Spinners dominated ODI series

The slow ball masters from both sides grabbed 36 out of 49 wickets while the speed merchants could participate with 13 wickets.

Shahid Afridi Top Spinner
Shahid Afridi Top Spinner

We will highlight all three matches, match results and the performance of spin bowlers in those encounters.

First ODI was played at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, on December 1, 2011.

Bangladesh was out played by the Green Shirts and they looked at the mercy of their spinners. Shahid Afridi led the attack with his a destructive spell and the whole team was bowled out for mere 91 runs in 30.3 overs. Nasir Hossain was the highest scorer with 21 runs and no other batsman was able to reach the 20 marks.

Pakistani Spinners shared eight wickets among them led by Afridi who clinched five wickets, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik and Saeed Ajmal claimed one wicket each while one wicket each was taken by Umar Gul and Aizaz Cheema.

The visitors chased the target by scoring 93 runs for the loss of five wickets. Afridi top scored with unbeaten 24 followed by 22 runs by Hafeez.

Three wickets were taken by the spinners, Two by Shakib Al Hasan and one by Nasir Hossain and the seamer Rubel Hossain held two wickets.

Pakistan won the match by five wickets and led the series 1-0.

Performance of spinners  –  11 out of 15 wickets.

Second ODI took place on December 3, 2011, at the same venue and Pakistan scored 262 runs after losing seven wickets, Umar Akmal and Shahid Afridi were the notable batsmen with 59 and 42 runs respectively.

Shafiul and Rubel shared two wickets each as three were shared by the spninners Shakib, Abdur Razzak and the debutant Elias Sunny.

Bangladesh could reach at 186 runs in the allotted 50 overs while losing seven wickets and the major contribution came from Nasir who thrashed 100 runs.

The supreme fast bowler of Pakistan got four wickets, while Hafeez bagged two and Saeed one wicket. The visitors won the match in style by a handsome lead of 76 runs and extended their series lead to 2-0.

Performance of spinners  –   six out of 14 wickets.

Third ODI was played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong, on December 6, 2011, which was completely dominated by the spinners. The Green Shirts crept to 177 runs before their innings was folded back in 46.1 overs, Umar and Misbah contributed 57 and 47 runs respectively.

Nine wickets were taken by spinners, Razzak and Mahmudullah shared three each, Elias 2 and Shakib one as pacer Shafiul took one wicket.

Bangladesh batsmen struggled throughout their innings and managed 119 runs and were bowled out in 38 overs.

They were unable to force the rival spinners who clinched all ten wickets led by three each from Hafeez and Shoaib, as Abdur Rehman and Saeed Ajmal shared two wickets each.

Pakistanwon the match by 58 runs and took away the series 3-0 and proved their worth in the limited over game.

Performance of spinners  –   19 out of 20 wickets.

The spinners have shown their superiority in the series while keeping batsmen guessing. Pakistan has one of the best spin squad in the globe and Saeed Ajmal is enjoying the no.1 bowler in the world ranking. They proved in the series by clinched 21 out of 27 wickets while Bangladesh spinners have also shown their promise by having a major share of 15 out of 22 wickets.


One response to “Spinners dominated ODI series”

  1. atiqa Avatar

    well done afridi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.