Thisara Perera drowned Trinidad & Tobago

Sunrisers Hyderabad 6-164 (Thisara Perera 57*, Shikhar Dhawan 23, Sunil Narine 4-9) beat Trinidad & Tobago 8-160 (Darren Bravo 66, Evin Lewis 22, Darren Sammy 2-21) by four wickets.

An all round performance from Thisara Perera lifted Sunrisers Hyderabad who defeated the star studded Trinidad & Tobago in their opening match of group B.

Trinidad & Tobago scored 160 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the measured 20 overs and Sunrisers Hyderabad achieved the target by plundering 164 with four wickets remaining and three balls to spare.

Thisara Perera (Sunrisers Hyderabad) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his brilliant all round display with the ball and the bat.

The 7th match of the Champions League Twenty20 in Group B was played on Tuesday, September 24, 2013, at Punjab cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh.

Earlier, Shikhar Dhawan won the toss for Sunrisers Hyderabad and put in his opponent team to bat first. T &T lost their first wicket without a run on board as Darren Bravo and Evin Lewis started the consolidation process. The latter hit 4 fours whereas Bravo got first six of the innings along with two consecutive fours in the sixth over. The score was pushed to 49 when Lewis was caught behind by Parthiv Patel off Ishant Sharma for 22. Jason Mohammed came in next while Bravo dispatched another 2 sixes in the 12th over and completed his seventh Twenty20 fifty as well.

Thisara Perera - A match winning all round performance
Thisara Perera – A match winning all round performance

Darren Bravo continued with his attacking game and Jason Mohammed kept on securing his end. The hundred of the innings was displayed on screen in the 14th one as Bravo was caught by Dhawan off Sharma for 66 from just 44 balls with 4 towering sixes and 5 fours. His partner was gone in the next over for 19 and Denesh Ramdin scored 21 as Trinidad & Tobago managed 160 with two wickets left after 20 overs.

Ishant Sharma, Thisara Perera and Darren Sammy shared two wickets each whereas Dale Steyn claimed one.

Parthiv Patel and Shikhar Dhawan started the chase for Sunrisers Hyderabad as the first was dropped in the opening over. The pair hit 1 six and 5 fours in the four overs as Patel became the first victim of Sunil Narine at 35 after contributing 17 runs. Jean-Paul Duminy joined in next with Dhawan who was going well until he was caught and bowled by Navin Stewart for 23 off 18 with 1 six and 3 fours. Hanuma Vihari walked in next as Duminy was run out for 17 and was replaced by Thisara Perera who opened his account with a six.

Perera added 10 runs in the 13th over with 1 six and 1 four while Vihari was sent back to the pavilion for 13. The first took over the game and sent the ball out of the fence at regular intervals with a little assistance at the other end. Sunil Narine brought his team back in the game by taking two quick wickets of Darren Sammy and Ashish Reddy for 15 and 0 runs respectively. Thisara Perera smashed his second Twenty20 half century on the 29th ball he faced as his team required seven runs to win the match in the last over. Karn Sharma dispatched the winning six on the third ball and won the game for Sunrisers Hyderabad who powered 6-164 in 19.3 overs. He remained unbeaten for 13 and Perera was at the other end for 57 off 32 mere balls with 4 hefty sixes and even fours.

Sunil Narine was the highest wicket taker with four and Navin Stewart chipped in with one.

Sunrisers Hyderabad grabbed the thrilling encounter against Trinidad & Tobago by a margin of four wickets and got four points.

Team standings in Group B

Chennai Super Kings

Match 1 – won 1 – points 4 – net run rate +0.679

Trinidad & Tobago

Matches 2 – won 1 – lost 1 – points 4 – net run rate +0.438


Matches 2 – won 1 – lost 1 – points 4 – net run rate -0.180

Brisbane Heat

Matches 2- lost 2 – points 0 – net run rate 0.725


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.