India anticipating a sixer – Asia Cup 2012

The 11th edition of the Asia Cup is being held in Bangladesh, India has grasped the title five times and will be striving for the sixth one.

Team India - striving for the 6th title of Asia Cup
Team India – striving for the 6th title of Asia Cup

We will highlight the previous championships which India won along with the peculiar features of the finals.

1984 (first edition), Captains – India, Sunil Gavaskar, Sri Lanka, Duleep Mendis, Pakistan, Zaheer Abbas

The inaugural event was started in 1984 which took place in Sharjah from April 6 to 13, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan were the only three teams who participated. The tournament was played on round robin basis and three teams played against each other.

The events were held at Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium and India won the first game against the Islanders on April 8, by a huge margin of 10 wickets.

The second match took place against Pakistan on April 13, where India beat them by 54 runs.

The Blue shirts won both of their matches and were declared the champions under the leadership of the little master, Sunil Gavaskar.

1988-89 (third edition), Captains – India, Dilip Vengsarkar, Sri Lanka, Arjuna Ranatunga

The third edition of Asia Cup was held in Bangladesh from October 26 to November 4, 1988 and the host was also included in the race.

India qualified for the final against Sri Lanka and the event was held at National Stadium, Dhaka on November 4.


The Islanders were bowled out for 176 runs in 43.2 overs ( Duleep Mendis 36, Athula Samarasekera 26 and Kris Srikkanth 3-12).

India achieved the target by scoring 180 runs in 37.1 overs for the loss of four wickets (Navjot Sidhu 76, Vengsarkar unbeaten 50, Kapila Wijegunawardene 2-33).

Player of the match –  Navjot Sidhu

Result – India won by six wickets.

1990-91 (fourth edition), Captains – India, Mohammad Aazharuddin, Sri Lanka, Arjuna Ranatunga

The fourth edition of the Asia Cup was held in India from December 25, 1990 to Jnauary4, 1991, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and the hosts were the participants.

The final was played between India and Sri Lanka on Kanuary 4, 1991 at Eden Gardens, Calcutta.


Sri Lanka 204 for the loss of nine wickets in 45 overs (Arjuna Ranatunga 49, Asanka Gurusinha 39, Kapil Dev 4-31).

India 205 for three wickets  (Sanjay Manjrekar and Azharuddin unbeaten 75 and 54 respectively, Sachin Tendulkar 53).

Player of the match – Mohammad Azharuddin

Result – India won by seven wickets.

1995 (fifth edition) Captains – India, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sri Lanka, Arjana Ranatunga

The tournament was held at sharjah from April 5 to 13, 1995, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were the participants. The final was played at Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium on April 9, 1995.


Sri Lanka 202 for nine wickets in 50 overs (Hashan Tillakaratne 48, Sanath Jayasuriya 31, Venkatesh Prasad 3-37).

India 206 for two wickets  (Tendulkar unbeaten 112, Manoj Prabharkar 60, Jayasuriya 2-42).

Player of the match – Sachin Tendulkar

Result – India won by eight wickets

2010 (10th edition), Captains, MS Dhoni, Sri Lanka, Kumar Sangakkara

The 10th edition was held in Sri Lankafrom June 15 to 22nd, the hosts, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh were the participants.

The final of the event was played between Sri Lanka and India at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium, on June 24, 2010.


India 268 for 6 wickets in 50 overs (Dinesh Karthik 66, Rohit Sharma 41, Lasith Malinga and Thilina Kandamby, two wickets each)

Sri Lanka 187 all out in 44.4 overs  (Chamara Kapugedara unbeaten 55, Thilina Kandamby 31, Ashish Nehra 4-40).

Player of the match – Dinesh Karthik

Result – India won by 81 runs.

India will be playing its first match against Sri Lanka and will look for a positive start which can lead them clinching the title for the sixth time.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.