India vs. Australia – a tough Test series ahead

Australia has arrived in India to play four Tests on their recent trip and both teams will fight hard in the series to prove their supremacy in all matches.

MS Dhoni and co is ready to face the charged Australians under the captaincy of Michael Clarke. The Kangaroos have beaten team India badly 4-0 on their last tour to Australia in the 2011-12 four Test series. The Australians were beaten 2-0 when they visited India previously to play a short Test series in 2010-11 that comprised just two Tests.

The first Test series ever between the two countries was played in 1947-48 in Australia. The great Sir Donald Bradman led the Aussies whereas the legendary Lala Nanik Amarnath Bharadwaj was the captain of India. The five match series was clinchéd by the home side with a distinctive margin of 4-0. India faced a humiliating 4-0 defeat under the leadership of MS Dhoni and Michael Clarke was the victorious captain in the 2011-12 home series. Two teams have played 82 Tests so far, Australia has won 38, India 20 whereas 24 of them ended in a draw.

Team India - After winning the 2010-11 home series 2-0
Team India – After winning the 2010-11 home series 2-0

MS Dhoni led his side to a 2-0 win against Australia who visited India to play a two Test series in 2010-11, under the captaincy of Ricky Ponting. Both teams whitewashed the opponents in their previous home series so team India will have a clear edge over the Australians in the forthcoming series. We will highlight the two match series between the two cricket giants when the Kangaroos visited India last in 2010-11 two Test series.

First Test played at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Moahli, Chandigarh, on October 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, 2010.


Australia first innings – 428, Shane Watson 126, Tim Paine 92, Ricky Ponting 71, Zaheer Khan 5-94 and Harbhajan Singh 3-114.

India first innings – 405, Sachin Tendulkar 98, Suresh Raina 86, Rahul Dravid 77, Virender Sehwag 59, Mitchell Johnson 5-64, Doug Bollinger 2-49.

Australia second innings – 192, Shane Watson 56, Simon Katich 37, Michael Hussey 28, Ishant Sharma 3-34, Zaheer Khan 3-43.

India second innings –  9-216, VVS Laxman 73*, Sachin Tendulkar 38, Ishant Sharma 31, Ben Hilfenhaus 4-57, Doug Bollinger 3-32.

Player of the match – Zaheer Khan (India)

Result – India won by 1 wicket.

Second Test played on October 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13, 2010, at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.


Australia first innings – 478, Marcus North 128, Ricky Ponting 77, Tim Paine 59, Shane Watson 57, Harbhajan Singh 4-148, Pragyan Ojha 3-120.

India first innings – 495, Sachin Tendulkar 214, Murali Vijay 139, Suresh Raina 32, Mitchell Johnson 3-105, Peter George 2-48.

Australia second innings – 223, Ricky Ponting 72, Shane Watson 32, Simon Katich 24, Zaheer Khan 3-41, Pragyan Ojha 3-57.

India second innings – 3-207, Cheteshwar Pujara 72, Sachin Tendulkar 53*, Murali Vijay 37, Shane Watson 1-20

Player of the match – Sachin Tendulkar

Player of the series – Sachin Tendulkar

Result – India won by seven wickets and lifted the series 2-0.

The first Test of the series will commence on February 22, 2013, at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.