South Africa won the 1st T20 vs. Pakistan

South Africa 7-153 (Quinton de Kock 43, Hashim Amla 31, Junaid Khan 2-24)beat Pakistan 2-60 (Nasir Jamshed 18, Mohammad Hafeez 13*, Jean-Paul Duminy 1-3) by four runs (D/L method).

The lady luck kept away from the visiting Green Shirts who were chasing nicely but lost the rain affected first Twenty20 against the Proteas at Johannesburg.

The hosts smashed 153 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs and the tourists managed 60 in 9.1 overs with eight wickets remaining.

Quinton de Kock (South Africa) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his attacking knock of 43 runs.

The first Twenty20 of the two match series was played on Wednesday, November 20, 2013, at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

Quinton de Kock - Agreesive knock in the match
Quinton de Kock – Agreesive knock in the match

Earlier, Mohammad Hafeez, the skipper of the Green Shirts won the toss and went into field first. Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla provided a sharp beginning for the home side by scoring 53 runs in five overs with 11 fours. They punished the rival fast bowlers at will and rushed to 72 in 7.5 overs when Hashim Amla was clean bowled by Mohammad Hafeez for 31 off 20 balls with 6 fours. His partner departed nine runs later for 43 off just 33 with 8 fours as the Pakistani spinners slowed down the run rate. The South African captain, Faf du Plessis, and David Miller were the other notable batsmen with 22 and 19* as the hosts powered 7-153 in the allotted overs.

Junaid Khan and Mohammad Hafeez were the top wicket takers with two each whereas the debutant, Bilawal Bhatti, and Shahid Afridi shared one wicket each.

Pakistan lost their first wicket at 18 when the man in form, Ahmed Shehzad, was gone for 9. Mohammad Hafeez joined in with Nasir Jamshed who was struggling at the other end. The latter hit three fours in the coming overs and became the next victim at 50 after scoring 18 runs. Umar Akmal and Mohammad Hafeez were at the crease for 7 and 13 runs, took the score to 60 after 9.1 overs when the game was stopped because of rain. Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Jean-Paul Duminy were the only successful bowlers with one wicket each.

The fate of the encounter was decided as per Duckworth/Lewis method and South Africa was declared the winners by four runs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.