West Indies A clinched the 2nd unofficial Test vs. India A by their lethal bowling

West Indies A first innings 217 (Kraigg Brathwaite 66, Veerasammy Permaul 36, Shami Ahmed 4-43) second innings 204 (Jonathan Carter 74, Donovan Pagon 67, Akshay Darekar 6-67) beat India A first innings 202 (Cheteshwar Pujara 67, Rahul Sharma 30, Veerasammy Permaul 5-58) second innings 94 (Manoj Tiwary 20, Rohit Sharma 13, Delorn Johnson 6-34) by 125 runs.

Delorn Johnson and Veerasammy Permaul - Scratched India A second innings by sharing 10 wickets
Delorn Johnson and Veerasammy Permaul – Scratched India A second innings by sharing 10 wickets

Delorn Johnson and Veerasammy penetrated through the strong batting line of India A as West Indies A secured a comfortable victory in the 2nd unofficial Test.

West Indies A came back strongly after losing the thrilling first unofficial Test by just two runs on June 5, 2012, at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados. Their captain, VeeraSammy Permaul was pleased with the victory in the second unofficial Test and said,

“This is a good comeback after the way we lost in Barbados. We felt we should have won there. After that defeat we were a bit down. But we came back here and got it right.”

West Indies A punched 217 runs in their first innings and managed 204 in the second. India A replied with 202 runs in their first innings and were bowled out for 94 mere runs in the second innings.

Veerasammy Permaul (West Indies A) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his intelligent leadership and all round performance in the game.

The 2nd unofficial Test concluded on Tuesday, June 12, 2012 at Aarnos Vale Ground, Kingstown, St Vincent.

Earlier, India A started the fourth and final day at 57-4 after consuming 20 overs, Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary were at the crease with 8 and 15 runs respectively. The innings was initiated in a cautious manner by the two batsmen and they found it difficult to score the runs freely.

Sharma became the first casualty for the visitors when his stumps were uprooted by the leg spinner Permaul, after the addition of just six runs in the overnight score. He was gone for 13 runs and the wicketkeeper batsman,Wriddhiman Saha, was declared leg before wicket without opening his account in the same over and India A was reeling at 63-6.

Tiwary held his end for quite some time as the wickets kept on sliding and he became the eighth victim after scoring 20 off 62 balls without sending the ball out of the fence even once. Permaul and Delorn Johnson ripped through the batting of Indai A and the whole team was bowled out for just 94 runs. Eight of their batsmen were unable to touch the double figures and it took 10.4 overs for the home side to grasp the last six wickets.

Delorn Johnson was the star performer and grabbed six wickets whereas Veerasammy Permaul added four wickets to his tally.

West Indies A won the match comprehensively by a huge margin of 125 runs and the batting line up of India A was exposed in the longer version of the game after most of their batsmen performed well during the Indian Premier League 2012.

The skipper of West Indies A, Veerasammy Permaul was excited with the victory which was achieved after a sheer hard work by the entire team in the match. He further commented,

“India have a big batting line-up with guys who are well known in the IPL, but we knew once we worked hard and played good cricket over the five days we [knew we] could beat them. We played well and when you play well you deserve some success.”

The three match unofficial Test series is levelled at 1-1 and the final match will commence from June 16, 2012 at Gros Islet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.