India triumphed in the cliff- hanger vs. Sri Lanka – final

India 9-203 (Rohit Sharma 58, MS Dhoni 45*, Suresh Raina 32, Rangana Herath 4-20) beat Sri Lanka 201 (Kumar Sangakkara 71, Lahiru Thirimanne 46, Ravindra Jadeja 4-23) by one wicket.

MS Dhoni led his troops from the front in the final of the West Indies Tri-Nation Series 2013, as they grabbed a sensational game against Sri Lanka in Trinidad.

The Islanders were bowled out for 201 in 48.5 overs and the Blue Shirts plundered 203 runs for the loss of 9 wickets and two balls still available.

MS Dhoni (India) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his outstanding unbeaten knock of 45 runs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India) was announced ‘Player of the series’ for his superb fast bowling in the event.

The final of the West Indies Tri-Nation Series was played on Thursday, July 11, 2013, at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Earlier, MS Dhoni, the captain of India, won the toss and invited Sri Lanka for batting. Upul Tharanga and Mahela Jayawardene were unable to give a solid start and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got their prize wickets as the score reached 49 in 13.3 overs. Kumar Sangakkara and Lahiru Thirimanne were unable to push the scoring rate as the latter was dropped at two runs by Ravichandran Ashwin off Ishant Sharma in the 18th over. The watchful batting continued until the 23rd over when Sangakara got a chance at 23 and the hundred of the innings was posted on board in the 28th over.

MS Dhoni - Match winning knock
MS Dhoni – Match winning knock

Kumar Sangakkara got his 77th ODI fifty in the 34th over as Thirimanne hit two consecutive fours two overs later. The first punished Ishant Sharma for 15 runs on four balls of the 38th over with 1 six and 2 fours. The third wicket partnership was broken at 171 when Lahiru Thirimanne was gone for 46 off 72 balls with 4 fours. Kumar Sangakkara departed three runs later for 71 from 100 deliveries with 1 six and 4 fours. The Men in Blue ripped through the remaining batting line up of the Lankan Lions who scored 201 with seven balls to spare.

Ravindra Jadeja was the highest wicket taker with four whereas Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin shared two wickets each.

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan were lazy while opening the innings for India and scored 23 runs in eight overs. Dhawan became the first victim four balls later for 16 and Virat Khli lost his wicket after scoring just two runs. Dinesh Karthik joined in next with Sharma who scored 9 runs on 33 balls before he hit a six in the 14th over. They kept on creeping and Karthik hit two back to back fours in the 20th over but was caught by Jayawardene off Rangana Herath for 23 as the total reached 77 in 23overs. Rohit Sharma walked in next and tried to speed up the scoring rate with a few boundaries while Rohit Sharma attained his 17th ODI half century in the 29th over.

The score was taken to 139 when Rohit Sharma was clean bowled by Rangana Herath for 58 off 89 with 1 six and 5 fours. The Indian middle order batting collapsed as their 8th wicket fell at 167 in 41.5 overs. Dhoni was the only recognised batsman left at the crease who kept on fighting and the 9th wicket went down at 182 in 46.2 overs. The calculated innings from the Indian skipper continued as they require 15 runs from the last six balls. MS Dhoni went past the target by dispatching 2 sixes and 1 four as the Blue Shirts hammered 203 runs after losing nine wickets with two balls still remaining. Dhoni remained unbeaten for 45 off 52 balls with 2 lofty sixes and 5 fours and Ishant Sharma was at the other end at two.

Rangana Herath was the supreme bowler with four wickets, Shaminda Eranga got two whereas Suranga Lakmal, Angelo Mathews and Lasith Malinga held one wicket each.

India won the nail biter with a narrow margin of one wicket and clinched the trophy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.