Matthew Wade steers Australia to victory against India in the first T20 Cricket Match of the Series

Matthew Wade butchered the Indian attack and displayed powerful batting by smashing 72 runs which helped Australia for a comprehensive win over India in the first Twenty20.

Matthew Wade Blast off 72 runs against India in the first T20 Cricket Match
Matthew Wade Blast off 72 runs against India in the first T20 Cricket Match

The Aussies thrashed 171 runs for the loss of just four wickets in the allotted 20 overs as the men in blue posted 140 after losing six wickets in their allotted quota of overs.

Wade was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his outstanding batting performance.
The match took place at Stadium Australia, Sydney, on February 1, 2012.

Earlier the new Australian Captain, George Bailey lost the toss but his team was offered to bat first.

Their openers David Warner and Wade utilized the batting option to their best and provided a solid opening stand for the team. Warner hammered Ravichandran Ashwin for 18 runs in the third over which included two towering sixes and a four.

Vinay Kumar brought the first success for the visitors when Warner was caught at backward point by Suresh Raina for 25 runs. The first wicket fell at 38 runs in 3.5 overs when Travis Birt joined with Wade in the centre.

The debutant leg spin bowler Rahul Sharma dropped Brit on his own bowling in the ninth over while injuring his finger in the process. The batsman was unable to proceed further and was gone in the very next over for 17 runs.

Wade took command of the situation by punching the bowlers all over the ground as David Hussey supported him well in the same manner at the other end. The duo shared a hurried partnership of 56 runs for the third wicket as Wade lost his wicket. He knocked 72 runs off 43 balls with the help of three well timed sixes and five fours.

Hussy continued his assault and remained unbeaten on 42 runs off 30 balls which comprised three huge sixes and one four as the home side punched 171 runs at the end of the 20th over.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Suresh Raina and Rahul Sharma shared one wicket each.
India faced a set back on the third ball of the first over when their star opener Virender Sehwag was caught in the first slip by Hussey off Brett Lee on four runs.

Gautam Ghambhir and Virat Kohli tried to consolidate the innings and took the score to 47 runs as the earlier lost his wicket for 20 runs.

The Kangaroo bowlers dominated the proceedings, the wickets kept on falling at the regular intervals and the rhythm of speedy batting was lost. The middle order of blue shirts collapsed while trying to accelerate the runs and nominal contribution was witnessed from them.

MS Dhoni secured one end but was unable to push the scoring rate as required by the clock. He lingered on with unbeaten 48 runs off 43 balls with three sweet sixes and a four as the quota of overs was completed. India managed 140 runs for the loss of six wickets and surrendered the match by 31 runs.

Daniel Christian and Hussey were the highest wicket takers with two each as Lee and Brad Hogg claimed one wicket each.
The new skipper of Australia in the shortest form of cricket, George Bailey, was successful in his maiden international match which might fill the gap of leadership for the nation in T20.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.