Five grand run chases of ODI

The Indian top order batting trio butchered the bowling attack of Australia and clinched the second highest chase in ODI by hammering 1-362 in the 2nd game.

The Men in Blue went into that game with a deficit of one since they lost the first ODI of the series by 72 runs on October 13, 2013, at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune. The second One Day International was held at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur, on October 16, 2013. The Kangaroos piled up 359 runs for the loss of just five wickets in the allotted 50 overs. Their skipper, George Bailey, was the highest run maker with unbeaten 92 whereas Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch contributed 83, 59, 53 and 50 runs respectively.

The target looked rather difficult as the home side never scored so many runs while chasing. Rohit Sharma along with Shikhar Dhawan accepted the challenge bravely and went after the bowlers right from the word go. They amassed a hefty opening partnership of 176 runs in just 26.1 overs when Dhawan unluckily lost his wicket for 95 off just 86 deliveries comprising 14 fours. The incoming batsman, Virat Kohli, had some different ideas in mind and started punishing the rival bowlers at will. Sharma kept on flourishing at the other end and the boundaries were showering from the blades of the two batsmen.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli - Unbeaten tons in the second highest ODI run chase
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli – Unbeaten tons in the second highest ODI run chase

Rohit Sharma smashed his third ODI hundred in the process and Virat Kohli blasted the fastest ton by an Indian batsman when he attained his 16th ODI century on the 52nd balls. The pair secured their ends for 141 and 100 runs respectively as the Blue Shirts plundered 1-362 in 43.3 overs and won the game comprehensively. Rohit Sharma was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his authentic unbeaten knock of 141 and the series was levelled at 1-1.

We will highlight the top five highest run chases in One Day International cricket and surprisingly top four were attained against Australia and the fifth one was taken by the Kangaroos.

1-     South Africa vs. Australia 438-9

The 5th ODI was played on March 12, 2006, at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.


Australia – 434-4 in 50 overs, Ricky Ponting 164 (105b 13×4 9×6), Michael Hussey 81 (51b 9×4 3×6), Simon Katich 79 (90b 9×4 1×6), Roger Telemachus 2-87.

South Africa – 438-9 in 49.5 overs, Herschelle Gibbs 175 (111b 21×4 7×6), Graeme Smith 90 (55b 13×4 2×6), Mark Boucher 50* (43b 4×4), Nathan Bracken 5-67.

Player of the match – Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa)

Result – South Africa won by one wicket.


2-India vs. Australia (summary narrated above)

3-New Zealand vs. Australia 350-9

The 3rd ODI was played at Seddon Park, Hamilton, on February 20, 2007.


Australia – 346-5 in 50 overs, Matthew Hayden 181* (166b 11×4 10×6), Shane Watson 68 (69b 8×4), Jeetan Patel 2-70.

New Zealand – 350-9 in 49.3 overs, Craig McMillan 117 (96b 13×4 5×6), Brendon McCullum 86* (91b 5×4 2×6), Peter Fulton 51 (40b 6×4 3×6), Mitchell Johnson 3-81)

Player of the match – Matthew Hayden (Australia)

Result – New Zealand won by one wicket.

4-New Zealand vs. Australia 340-5

The 2nd ODI was held on February 18, 2007, at Eden Park, Auckland.


Australia – 336-4 in 50 overs, Michael Hussey 105 (84b 8×4 6×6), Brad Haddin 49 (61b 5×4 2×6), Shane Bond 1-39.

New Zealand – 340-5 in 48.4 overs, Ross Taylor 117 (127b 16×4, 1×6), Peter Fulton 76* (65b 5×4 2×6), Craig McMillan 52 (30b 7×4 2×6), Shane Watson 3-58.

Player of the match – Ross Taylor (New Zealand)

ResultNew Zealand won by five wickets.

5-Australia vs. England 334-8

The 6th ODI was played on February 2, 2011, at Sydney Cricket ground.


England – 333-6 in 50 overs, Jonathan Trott 137 (126b 11×4), Andrew Strauss 63 (69b 6×4), Shaun Tait 2-59.

Australia – 334-8 in 49.2 overs, Michael Clarke 82 (70b 4×4 1×6), Mitchell Johnson 57 (59b 1×4 2×6), Shane Watson 51 (34b 8×4), Steven Finn 2-51.

Player of the match – Jonathan Trott (England)

Result – Australia won by two wickets.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.