Indian Premier League – The champions

The Indian Premier League is the most wonderful tournament in the Twenty20 format of the game and has provided a new face to the fascinating game of cricket.

IPL was inaugurated in 2008 and Lalit Modi was the founder member of the world’s most attractive and lucrative tournament. The cream of cricketers all around the globe feel proud to be a part of this competition and end up by adding huge amounts to their accounts that secures their future financially. Team India has benefited immensely ever since the inceptions of IPL since a number of young and thrilling players were successful in wearing the Blue Shirts while representing their country.

The Twenty20 has added new thrills for the cricket lovers all over India as well as for the lovers of the game, across the world. The crowd sitting in the stadiums benefits from the real picture whereas the tournament is broadcasted live almost in each cricket playing country.

Kolkata Knight Riders with the IPL 2012, Trophy
Kolkata Knight Riders with the IPL 2012, Trophy

Shane Warne was the first captain who lifted the coveted IPL trophy for Rajasthan Royals on June 1, 2008, beating Chennai Super Kings which was led by MS Dhoni. IPL was last staged in 2012 that was the fifth edition of this tournament and Kolkata Knight Riders beat Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets on May 27, 2012, in the final under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir.

Below, we will highlight all five finals played so far along with brief details of the thrilling encounters.

IPL 2008 (8 participant teams)

Rajasthan Royals vs. Chennai Super Kings played on June 1, 2008, at Dr Dy Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai.


Chennai Super Kings (captain, MS Dhoni) – 5-163, Suresh Raina 43 (30b 1×4 2×6), Parthiv Patel 38 (33b 5×4), MS Dhoni 29* (17b 1×4 2×6), Yusuf Pathan 3-22)

Rajasthan Royals (captain, Shane Warne) – Yusuf Pathan 56 (39b 3×4 4×6), Shane Watson 28 (19b 3×4), Swapnil Asnodkar 28 (20b 4×4)

Player of the match – Yusuf Pathan (Rajasthan Royals)

Player of the series – Shane Watson – (Rajasthan Royals)

IPL 2009 (8 participant teams)

The event was held in South Africa from April 18 to May 24 and the final was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.


Deccan Chargers (captain, Adam Gilchrist) – 6-143, Herschelle Gibbs 53* (48b 3×4 2×6), Andrew Symonds 33 (21b 4×4, 1×6), Rohit Sharma 24 (23b 1×4, 1×6), Anil Kumble 4-16

Royal Challengers Bangalore (captain, Anil Kumble) – 9-137 in 20 overs, RE van der Merve 32 (21b 1×4, 3×6), Ross Taylor 27 (20b, 3×4, 1×6), Pragyan Ojha 3-28

Player of the match – Anil Kumble (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Player of the series – Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers)

Result – Deccan Chargers won by 6 runs

IPL 2010 (8 participant teams)

The final was played on April 25, 2010, between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians at Dr Dy Patil Sports Academy, Mumbai.


Chennai Super Kings (captain, MS Dhoni) – 5-168, Suresh Raina 57 (35b 3×4 3×6), Murali Vijay 26 (19b 1×4 2×6), Dhoni 22 (15b 2×4 1×6), Dilhara Fernando 2-23

Mumbai Indians (captain, Sachin Tendulkar) – 9-146, Sachin Tendulkar 48 (45b 7×4), Kieron Pollard 27 (10b 3×4 2×6), Abhishek Nayar 27 (26b 1×4 2×6), Shadab Jakati 2-26

Player of the match – Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)

Player of the series – Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Result – Chennai Super Kings won by 22 runs

IPL 2011 (10 participant teams)

Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore appeared in the final on May 28, 2011, at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.


Chennai Super Kings (captain, MS Dhoni) – 5-205, Murali Vijay 95 (52b 4×4 6×6), Michael Hussey 63 (45b 3×4 3×6), Dhoni 22 (13b 2×6), Chris Gayle 2-34

Royal Challengers Bangalore (captain, Daniel Vettori) – 8-147, Saurabh Tiwari 42* (34b 1×4 3×6), Virat Kohli 35 (32b 1×4 1×6), Zaheer Khan 21 (21b 2×4), Ravichandran Ashwin 3-16

Player of the match – Murali Vijay (Chennai Super Kings)

Player of the series – Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Result – Chennai Super Kings won by 58 run

IPL 2012 (9 participant teams)

Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Chennai Super Kings was played on May 27, 2012, at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.


Chennai Super Kings (captain, MS Dhoni) – 3-190, Suresh Raina 73 (38b 3×4 5×6), Michael Hussey 54 (43b 4×4 2×6), Murali Vijay 42 (32b 4×4 1×6), Rajat Bhatia 1-23

Kolkata Knight Riders (captain, Gautam Gambhir) – 5-192 in 19.4 overs, Manvinder Bisla 89 (48b 8×4 5×6), Jacques Kallis 69 (49b 7×4 1×6), Ben Hilfenhaus 2-25

Player of the match – Manvinder Bisla (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Player of the series – Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Result – Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets.

IPL 2013 (9 participants)

The sixth edition of IPL will start from April 3, 2013, and 9 teams will participate in the T20 tournament. The first match will be played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, whereas the final will be held on May 26, 2013, at the same venue between the two top teams.


One response to “Indian Premier League – The champions”

  1. datazione richmond Avatar
    datazione richmond

    Great article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.