India vs. Sri Lanka ODIs – A thrilling series ahead

The Indian squad has reached Sri Lanka to play a series of 5 ODIs and one T20. A lot of thrill is expected in the series as both teams will fight hard to win it.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the captain of the side has emphasised the importance of the series by saying that they will come to know where the team stands at the end of the tour. He was pleased to witness the energy level of the players, their body language is positive and they are keen to perform well.

The Sri Lankan team has performed excellently under the leadership of Mahela Jayawardene against the visiting Pakistani team while beating them in ODIs as well as in the Test series.

MS Dhoni and Mahela Jayawardene - fight for the supremacy in the ODI series
MS Dhoni and Mahela Jayawardene – fight for the supremacy in the ODI series

Both teams have faced each other 134 times, India has an edge over the hosts as they have beaten them 71 times. Sri Lanka has won 51 matches, 11 ended without any result and one was a tied encounter.

The first ever One Day International between the two teams was played on June 18, 1979 at Manchester and Sri Lanka beat India by 47 runs. They played the last game in the Asia Cup 2012, at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, on March 13, 2012, and India won the match by 50 runs.

We will highlight the performance of two teams in the last five ODIs which is as follows:

  1-   Asia Cup 2012 – 2nd match, played on March 13, 2012, at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.


India – 304 for 3 wickets in 50 overs, Virat Kohli 108, Gautam Gambhir 100, MS Dhoni 46*, Farveez Maharoof 2-57, Suranga Lakmal 1-67.

Sri Lanka – 254 all out in 45.1 overs, Mahela Jayawardene 78, Kumar Sangakkara 65, Lahiru Thirimanne 29, Irfan Pathan 4-32, Vinay Kumar 3-55.

Player of the match – Virat Kohli (India)

Result – India won by 50 runs.


 2-   Commonwealth Bank Series – 11th match, played at Bellerive Oval, Hobart, on February 28, 2012.


Sri Lanka – 320 for 4 wickets in 50 overs, Tillakaratne Dilshan 160*, Kumar Sangakkara 105, Ravindra Jadeja 1-43.

India – 321 for 3 in 36.4 overs, Virat Kohli 133*, Gautam Gambhir 63, Suresh Raina 40*, Maharoof 1-21.

Player of the match – Virat Kohli (India)

Result – India won by 7 wickets.


   3-   Commonwealth Bank Series – 8th match, played at Brisbane Cricket Ground, on February 21, 2012.


Sri Lanka – 289 for 6 in 50 overs, Thirimanne 62, Dilshan 51, Angelo Mathews 49*, Ravichandran Ashwin 2-50, Irfan Pathan 2-54.

India – 238 all out in 45.1 overs, Kohli 66, Pathan 47, Raina 32, Thisara Perera 4-37, Nuwan Kulasekara 3-40.

Player of the match – Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka)

Result – Sri Lanka won by 51 runs.


4-   Commonwealth Bank Series – 5th match, played at Adelaide Oval, on February 14, 2012.


Sri Lanka – 236 for 9 in 50 overs, Dinesh Chandimal 81, Mahela Jayawardene 43, Sangakkara 31, Vinay Kumar 3-46, Ashwin 2-30.

India – 236 for 9 in 50 overs, Gambhir 91, Dhoni 58*, Perera 2-45, Malinga 2-53.

Player of the match – MS Dhoni (India)

Result – Match tied.


 5-   Commonwealth Bank Series – 2nd match, played on February 8, 2012, at WACA Ground, Perth.


Sri Lanka – 233 for 8 in 50 overs, Dinesh Chandimal 64, Tillakaratne Dilshan 48, Angelo Mathews 33*, Ravichandran Ashwin 3-32, Zaheer Khan 2-44.

India – 234 for 6 in 46.4 overs, Virat Kohli 77, Sachin Tendulkar 48, Ashwin 30*, Mathews 2-31, Thisara Perera 1-37.

Player of the match – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

Result – India won by 4 wickets.

India has won three out of the last five matches played, Sri Lanka was victorious in one whereas one ended as a tied. The Lankan Lions will be a tough opponent at their home grounds and the Blue Shirts will try to dominate as well. It is going to be an entertaining series for the cricket lovers across the globe, especially in India and Sri Lanka.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.