New Zealand won a thriller vs. Sri Lanka

New Zealand 9-139 (Nathan McCullum 32, Martin Guptill 25, Lasith Malinga 4-34) beat Sri Lanka 138 (Kumar Sangakkara 68, Tillakaratne Dilshan 20, Mitchell McClenaghan 4-43, Kyle Mills 2-14) by one wicket.

New Zealand clinched a sensational low scoring match against Sri Lanka with a narrow margin as the bowlers from both sides dominated the interesting encounter.

The Lankan Lions were bowled out for 138 runs after utilizing 37.5 overs and the Black Caps attained the target by smashing 139 for the loss of 9 wickets in 36.3 overs.

Nathan McCullum (New Zealand) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his all round performance in the game.

The 4th match of the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was played on Sunday, June 9, 2013, at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

The Sri Lankan captain, Angelo Mathews, won the toss and elected to bat first at a batting wicket where India and Australia plundered more than 300 runs each in the opener. The decision hit back when they lost their first wicket without a run on board as Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara tried to stabilise the innings. They scored 23 runs at the end of the 5th over with 3 fours and Dilshan hit another one before he was clean bowled by Mitchell McClenaghan for 20.

Tim Southee and Mitchell McClenaghan  - Winning runs
Tim Southee and Mitchell McClenaghan – Winning runs

Sangakkara was stranded at his end as the middle order batting of the Islanders collapsed against the hostile bowling of the Kiwis. They were in real trouble at 6-82 after 26.3 overs as Thisara Perera walked in next. Sangakkara dispatched three consecutive boundaries in the 27th over and Perera was dropped at 0 by Tim Southee on his own bowling in the next over. Kumar Sangakkara smashed his 75th ODI fifty two overs later and the score went past the hundred runs mark in the 30th over. Thisara Perera was caught by Daniel Vettori off McClenaghan for 15 as the total touched 118 in 33.3 overs. Kumar Sangakkara was finally gone for 68 off 87 balls with 8 fours as Sri Lanka managed 138 in 37.5 overs.

Mitchell McClenaghan was the main wicket taker with four, Kyle Mills and Nathan McCullum held two each whereas Daniel Vettori claimed one wicket.

New Zealand went one wicket down at just 14 runs when Martin Guptill and Kane Wiliamson got together in the center. The score was enhanced to 35 in 8 overs with the assistance of 3 fours as Guptill hit two back to back fours in the next one. Williamson was held lbw off Lasith Malinga for 16 at the score of 48 and Ross Taylor became the next victim for a duck one run later. Martin Guptill added to the miseries of the Kiwis when he departed at the same total for 25 off 24 with 4 fours.

New Zealand was reeling at 6-80 in 20 overs when Brendon McCullum and Nathan McCullum associated at the crease. The duo kept on creeping and touched 99 after the conclusion of the 27th over. They added 10 valuable runs in the following over with a couple of fours from Nathan Mccullum and enhanced the partnership to 115 in 30 overs. The stumps of Brendon McCullum were uprooted by Malinga with a sharp delivery for 18. Lasith Malinga brought his side back to the game by removing Nathan McCullum for 32 off 42 with 3 fours in the 32nd over.

The Black Caps required 15 runs to win as Kyle Mills was run out for 3 in the 35th over. The Kiwis needed another four runs to win when Dilshan gave two wide runs away on the fourth ball of the 37th over and the score board displayed 9-139.

Lasith Malinga was the supreme bowler with four wickets, Shaminda Eranga got two whereas Rangana Herath and Tillakaratne Dilshan shared one wicket each.

New Zealand won the interesting encounter with a margin of just one wicket and secured two points.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.