The only unbeaten unit – India

Team India has performed excellently in the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy under the captaincy of MS Dhoni and is the only side who has won all three games so far.

A total of eight teams are taking part in the on-going tournament and the remaining seven teams except the Men in Blue have lost minimum one match. The eight sides were divided in two groups and India was placed in ‘Group B’ along with South Africa, West Indies and Pakistan. The hosts England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Australia were allotted ‘Group A’. India is the only side who grabbed six points and has already qualified for the semi-final spot along with South Africa from their pool. England has registered their place in the top four whereas the fate of the fourth team will be decided after the last and final pool ‘A’ encounter between Australia and Sri Lanka on June 17, 2013, at Kennington Oval, London.

The Blue Shirts have outplayed the three rival teams in each and every department of the game and they are the most favourite team to clinch the coveted trophy. Below, we will highlight the performance of India in the three matches of their group ‘B’.

1-     Vs. South Africa on June 6, 2013, at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.


India – 7-331 in 50 overs, Shikhar Dhawan 114 (94b, 12×4, 1×6),           Rohit Sharma 65 (81b 8×4 1×6), Ravindra Jadeja 47* (29b 7×4 1×6), Ryan McLaren 3-70, Lonwabo Tsotsobe 2-83

South Africa – 305 all out in 50 overs, Ryan McLaren 71 (61b 11×4 1×6), AB de Villiers 70 (71b 7×4), Robin Peterson 68 (72b 6×4), Jadeja 2-31, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2-49

Player of the match – Shikhar Dhawan (India)

Result – India won by 26 runs

Shikhar Dhawan - 264 runs in the tournament at an awesome average of 132.00
Shikhar Dhawan – 264 runs in the tournament at an awesome average of 132.00

2-     Vs. West Indies at Kennington Oval, London, on June 11, 2013


West Indies – 9-233 in 50 overs, Johnson Charles 60 (55b 7×4 2×6), Darren Sammy 56* (35b 5×4 4×6), Darren Bravo 35 (83b 2×4), Ravindra Jadeja 5-36, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1-32.

India – 2-236 in 39.1 overs, Shikhar Dhawan 102* (107b 10×4 1×6), Rohit Sharma 52 (56b 7×4), Dinesh Karthik 51* (54b 8×4), Sunil Narine 2-49

Player of the match – Ravindra Jadeja (India)

Result – India won by 8 wickets

3-     Vs. Pakistan on June 15, 2013, at Edgbaston, Birmingham


Pakistan – 165 all out in 39.4 overs (40 overs maximum), Asad Shafiq 41 (57b 3×4), Umar Amin 27* (26b 3×4), Mohammad Hafeez 27 (31b 5×4), Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2-19, Ravindra Jadeja 2-30

India – 2-102 in 19.1 overs (target 102 from 22 overs Duckworth/Lewis method), Shikhar Dhawan 48 (41b 5×4), Virat Kohli 22* (27b 3×4), Rohit Sharma 18 (32b 2×4), Wahab Riaz 1-20, Saeed Ajmal 1-29)

Player of the match – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

Result – India won by 8 wickets

The determined and in-form Indian side will play their semi-final on June 20, 2013, at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff, and their rival team will be disclosed after the final game of the pool ‘A’ between Sri Lanka and Australia on June 17th. The Men in Blue comrades are just two matches away from grabbing the 2013, ICC Champions Trophy and they are the strongest contenders for that.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.