Can India beat Pakistan? – ICC Champions Trophy

Pakistan leads India 2-0 in the ICC Champions Trophy and the Blue Shirts will try to win their 1st match vs. the Green Shirts in their next game at Edgbaston.

The arch rivals played two games in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004 and 2009, Pakistan managed to beat India on both occasions quite easily. Both countries were involved in 124 One Day Internationals so far and the men in Green have a clear edge over their opponents. Pakistan has won 71 matches, India was successful 49 times whereas 4 of their encounters ended in a draw / tied or without a result.

India started the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy with a bang while beating the mighty South Africans with a margin of 26 runs on June 6, 2013, at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff. Their young gun, Shikhar Dhawan, demonstrated a blistering knock of 114 runs, Rohit Sharma scored 65 and Ravindra Jadeja remained unbeaten for 47 quick fired runs as the Blue Shirts hammered 7-331 runs in 50 overs. Their bowlers bowled excellently and the Proteas were sent back to the pavilion for 305 runs.

Pakistan played their first match of the tournament vs. West Indies on June 7, 2013, at Kennington Oval, London. The Green Shirts were restricted to 170 in 48 overs as their batsmen surrendered against the quality bowling of the Windies. The skipper, Misbah-ul-Haq secured his end with 96, Nasir Jamshed contributed 50 whereas none of the other batsman was able to enter the double figures. The Caribbeans smashed 172 for the loss of 8 wickets and won the match by a narrow margin of two wickets.

Below, we will highlight the performance of India and Pakistan in the previous two matches they played in the ICC Champions Trophy.

Shoaib Malik - 'Player of the match' 2009 ICC Champions Trophy, for his blistering knock of 128 runs
Shoaib Malik – ‘Player of the match’ 2009 ICC Champions Trophy, for his blistering knock of 128 runs

1-     2004 ICC Champions Trophy, the match played at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on September 19, 2004.


Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)

Sourav Ganguly (India)


India – 200 all out in 49.5 overs, Rahul Dravid 67 (108b 4×4), Ajit Agarkar 47 (50b 3×4 1×6), Mohammad Kaif 27 (59b 3×4), Naved-ul-Hasan 4-25, Shoaib Akhtar 4-36)

Pakistan – 7-201 in 49.2 overs, Yousuf Youhana 81* (114b 5×4 1×6), Inzamam-ul-Haq 41 (79b 5x 4), Shahid Afridi 25 (27b 1×4 2×6), Irfan Pathan 3-34, Yuvraj Singh 1-6

Player of the match – Yousuf Youhana (Pakistan)

Result – Pakistan won by three wickets.

2-      2009 ICC Champions Trophy, the game was held on September 26, 2009, at SuperSport Park, Centurion.


Pakistan – Younis Khan

India – MS Dhoni


Pakistan – 9-302 in 50 overs, Shoaib Malik 128 (126b 16×4), Mohammad Yousuf 87 (88b 7×4), Imran Nazir 20 (17b 4×4), Ashish Nehra 4-55, Ishant Sharma 2-39.

India – 248 all out in 44.5 overs, Rahul Dravid 76 (103b 4×4), Gautam Gambhir 57 (46b 7×4 2×6), Suresh Raina 46 (41b 5×4 2×6), Saeed Ajmal 2-31, Shahid Afridi 2-39.

Player of the match – Shoaib Malik (Pakistan)

Result – Pakistan won by 54 runs.

India and Pakistan will enter the field against each other in the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy on June 15, 2013, at Edgbaston, Birmingham. The Green Shirts will try to maintain their unbeaten record in the ICC Champions Trophy whereas the Blue Shirts will anticipate winning the game.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.