A smooth victory for India against West Indies

India 3-130 (Rohit Sharma 62*, Virat Kohli 54, Andre Russell 1-12) beat West Indies 7-129 (Chris Gayle 34, Lendl Simmons 27, Ravindra Jadeja 3-48, Amit Mishra 2-18) by seven wickets.

A lethal bowling by the Indian spinners and fifties by Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli took the game away from West Indies who suffered a defeat in their opener.

The Windies managed 129 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs and the Blue Shirts smashed 130 with seven wickets in hand and two balls still available.

Amit Mishra (India) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his excellent bowling spell of 2-18.

The ICC World T20 – 17th match, Group 2, was played on Sunday, March 23, 2014, at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur.

Rohit Sharma - Unbeaten 62 while opening the innings
Rohit Sharma – Unbeaten 62 while opening the innings

Earlier, MS Dhoni won the toss for India and invited the Caribbeans to bat first. Dwayne Smith and Chris Gayle got off to a slow beginning while the latter was dropped for a couple of times. They scored just 38 runs in 7.5 overs when Smith was caught and bowled by Ravichandran Ashwin for 11. Marlon Samuels came in next and the score was taken to 62 when Gayle was gone for 34. The first followed him eight runs later for 18 as the rival bowlers took over the game completely. Lendl Simmons was the only other batsman who made some impression by scoring 27 while the Windies reached 7-129 in 20 overs.

Ravindra Jadeja was the highest wicket taker with three, Amit Mishra held two and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got one wicket.

Shikhar Dhawan was declared leg before wicket off Samuel Badree for a duck as Virat Kohli joined in with Rohit Sharma. Kohli went off to a brisk start and scored 24 runs off 13 balls with 1 six and 3 fours. Sharma joined his partner in the show and was hitting the ball at will while his partner thrashed his fifth T20 fifty in the 13th over. The first attained his sixth T20 half century in the next over and Virat Kohli was clean bowled by Andre Russell for 54 off 41 with 1 six and 5 fours. Yuvraj Singh surrendered his wicket for 10, Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten at 62 from 55 balls with 2 big sixes and 5 fours as India piled up 3-130 in 19.4 overs.

Samuel Badree, Marlon Samuels and Andre Russell were the only wicket taking bowlers with one each.

India won the match comfortably by a huge margin of seven wickets and took their points tally to four.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.