Ravichandran Ashwin leads India to a commanding victory – 1st Test vs. New Zealand

India 1st innings 438 (Cheteshwar Pujara 159, MS Dhoni 73, Jeetan Patel 4-100) beat New Zealand 159 and 164 (Kane Williamson 52, Brendon McCullum 43, Ravichandran Aashwin 6-54) by an innings and 115 runs.

India humiliated New Zealand in the 1st Test by a huge margin of an innings and 115 runs due to a magical spell of bowling from Ravichandran Ashwin in the game.

India hammered 438 runs in their first innings with a splendid knock of 159 runs by Cheteshwar Pujara and New Zealand managed 159 runs in the first innings followed by 164 in the second.

Ravichandran Ashwin - 'Player of the match' for his career best 12-85
Ravichandran Ashwin – ‘Player of the match’ for his career best 12-85

Ravichandran Ashwin (India) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his splendid bowling spell. He ended up with his career best figure of 12-85 in the match and created a record against the visitors. He became the only Indian to grab 43 wickets in his first seven Test matches.

That was the second heartening news for the Indian cricket as their Under-19s squad clinched the ICC Under-19s World Cup, 2012, early in the day while beating Australia Under-19s in Australia.

The first Test of the series came to an end on Sunday, August 26, 2012, at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad.

Earlier, the Black Caps started the fourth day’s play at 1-41 in 18 overs and Brendon McCullum along with  Kane Williamson were at the crease with 16 and 3 runs respectively. Both batsmen initiated with caution, scored 12 runs in the first seven overs and Williamson got the first four of the day in the 26th over. McCullum joined him two overs later and the duo crept to 98 after 45 overs.

Umesh Yadav struck for the home side on the first ball of the next over when Brendon McCullum was declared leg before wicket for 42. The batsman was unhappy with the decision of the Umpire Steve Davis as the ball clearly got an inside edge before hitting the pad. The damage was done and that was the beginning of the disaster for the Kiwis as their skipper, Ross Taylor, became the next victim seven runs later.

The New Zealand batsmen were unable to read the spinning deliveries of the Indian bowlers. They found it hard to score the runs and secure their wickets as well. Kane Williamson and Daniel Flynn tried to resist as the first achieved his fifty on the fourth ball of the 64th over.

The fourth wicket partnership produced 33 runs and the score was enhanced to 138 runs when Kane Williamson was caught at first slip by Virneder Sehwag off Pragyan Ojha for 52 runs. The Indian spinners, especially Ravichandran Ashwin, took over from there and made life miserable for the rival batsmen. Five of their batsmen were unable to touch double figures as Ashwin ripped through the batting of the visitors and the entire team was bowled out for 164 mere runs in 79.5 overs.

Ashwin was the lethal bowler and repeated the glory of first innings by grasping six wickets again, Pragyan Ojha held three whereas Umesh Yadav claimed one wicket.

India won the match comprehensively by a tremendous margin of an innings and 115 runs and leads the two Test series 1-0. The second Test of the series will commence from August 31, 2012, at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.