David Warner and Naman Ojha crushed Deccan Chargers

Delhi Daredevils 193-1 (David Warner 109*, Naman Ojha 64*, Morne Morkel 1-32) beat Deccan Chargers 187-4 (Shikhar Dhawan 84, Cameron White 65, Varun Aaron 2-30) by nine wickets.

Delhi Daredevils batsman David Warner butchered Deccan Chargers
Delhi Daredevils batsman David Warner butchered Deccan Chargers

David Warner thrashed unbeaten ton supported by a half century by Naman Ojha as Delhi Daredevils humiliated Deccan Chargers and remained on top in the IPL 2012.

Deccan Chargers smashed 187 runs with six wickets in hand in the allotted 20 overs and Delhi Daredevils blasted 193 runs for the loss of just one wicket with 20 balls to spare.

David Warner (Delhi Daredevils) was unanimously declared ‘Player of the match’ for his stunning unbeaten knock of 109 off 54 balls.

The 55th match of the Indian Premier League was held at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium,Uppal, Hyderabad on Thursday, May 10, 2012.

Earlier, the captain of Deccan Chargers, Kumar Sangakkara, won the toss and went into bat straight away. They lost two wickets for 33 runs in 5.5 overs as Cameron White joined in with the opener, Shikhar Dhawan who was stranded at the other end. White made an impression by getting two fours in the seventh over and the pace was carried on by the duo. Dhawan punished Shahbaz Nadeem for two consecutive sixes in the 12th over and Irfan Pathan was at the receiving end in the following over with 15 runs with two fours and a six.

Dhawan completed his fifty in that over of Irfan Pathan and the score board displayed 100 runs of the innings as well. The crowd thoroughly enjoyed the showering of boundaries from both batsmen as White attained his fifty in the 16th over. The third wicket contributed 126 runs in 11.4 overs  when Shikhar Dhawan was unluckily run out for 84 off just 49 balls with 5 huge sixes and 9 fours.

Cameron White took over and added useful runs but lost his wicket for 65 off 45 deliveries with 2 sixes and 7 fours as Deccan Chargers scored 187 runs for the loss of four wickets when the required quota of 20 overs came to an end.

Varun Aaron was the most successful bowler with two wickets and Morne Morkel claimed one wicket.

Delhi Daredevils faced an early setback as their in form skipper, Virender Sehwag went back to the pavilion for just four runs when he was caught by White off Dhawan. Naman Ojha took guards and joined with David Warner who got two fours in the first over and never looked back after that. Warner penalized Ashish Reddy for 20 runs in the sixth over with two lofty sixes,  even fours and completed his fifty in the following over.

Ojha joined him in the ninth over with a couple of sixes to Dhawan, repeated it in the 14th over bowled by Amit Mishra and achieved his fifty. Warner was unstoppable as the boundaries were flowing frequently from his willow and hammered his century by dispatching the fourth ball of the 16th over flying over square leg boundary. The duo toyed with the Deccan Chargers bowlers and required mere five runs from the last 24 balls as the 17th over was bowled by TP Sudhindra. Naman Ojha sent the third ball reeling over the mid off boundary and smashed the fourth flying over the straight boundary for a six.

David Warner was unbeaten for 109 off just 54 balls which comprised 7 towering sixes and 10 fours and Ojha was at the other end with 64 from 46 deliveries with 5 well timed sixes and 2 fours.

Points secured by the two teams after the 55th match of the IPL 2012:

Delhi Daredevils   – 18 from 12 games at a net run rate of +0.977.

Deccan Chargers   –  5 from 13 games at a net run rate of -0.717.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.