Murali Vijay slaughtered Delhi Daredevils as Chennai Super Kings rushed to the final

Chennai Super Kings 222-5 (Murali Vijay 113, Suresh Raina 27, Varun Aaron 2-63) beat Delhi Daredevils 136 all out ( Mahela Jayawardene 55, Ross Taylor 24, Ravichandran Aashwin 3-23) by 86 runs.

Murali Vijay - Hero of the match with a superb ton
Murali Vijay – Hero of the match with a superb ton

An adventurous ton by Murali Vijay led Chennai Super Kings to the final of the IPL 2012 after they crushed Delhi Daredevils in the 2nd Qualifying match.

Chennai Super Kings blitzed 222 runs with five wickets in hand at the end of the scheduled 20 overs and Delhi Daredevils managed just 136 runs before they were bowled out in 16.5 overs.

Murali Vijay (Chennai Super Kings) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his scintillating knock of 113 off just 58 balls.

The Indian Premier league – 2nd Qualification Match was played on Friday, May 25, 2012 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai. The home ground was filled with the supporters of Chennai Super Kings who were cheering for their team throughout the match.

Earlier, Virender Sehwag, the captain of Delhi Daredevils, won the toss, preferred to chase and put the home team in to bat. Chennai Super Kings opened the innings by the young gun, Murali Vijay and the seasoned  Michael Hussey, as the first started off with a couple of fours from the initial two balls. The duo kept on attacking and Vijay gathered another 3 fours in the sixth over off Varun Aaron as the first fifty of the innings was attained in the same over.

The openers contributed 68 runs in 8.1 overs when Hussey was gone for 20 and Suresh Rains came in the centre. Murali Vijay punished Virender Sehwag for 21 runs in the 11th over with 2 huge sixes and even fours as Raina gathered 10 runs from the first three deliveries of the 14th over. The second wicket association resulted in 69 runs while consuming 5.3 overs as Raina was caught and bowled by Pawan Negi for 27 off 17 balls with 1 six and 3 fours.

The skipper, MS Dhoni, joined in next with Vijay and they accumulated 23 runs in the 15th over off Sunny Gupta with two sixes from the first and one from the latter. The third wicket fell at 173 in 16.3 overs when Dhoni went back to the pavilion for 23 off just 10 balls with two sixes and one four. Vijay smashed his century on the fourth ball of the 17th over and added a couple of fours in the last two balls of the over. He became the only Indian to score two centuries in the history of the Indian Premier League in a season. Dwayne Bravo entered in the park after the fall of the fourth wicket and hammered 23 runs in the 19th over off Aaron with 2 lofty sixes and 2 fours.

Murali Vijay was run out on the last ball of the innings for 113 off 58 mere deliveries with the assistance of 4 mammoth sixes and 15 well timed fours. Bravo remained unbeaten for 33 from 12 balls with 2 sixes and 3 fours as Chennai Super Kings piled up 222 runs for the loss of five wickets in 20 overs.

Varun Aaron was the best bowler with two wickets whereas Umesh Yadav and Pawan Negi held one wicket each.

Delhi Daredevils had a dreadful start while losing their two hard hitting batsmen, David Warner and Virender Sehwag for just 22 runs in 3.4 overs. Ross Taylor walked in next and joined with Mahela Jayawardene who was fighting bravely at the other end by scoring 16 off 9 balls with 3 fours. Jayawardene enhanced his score to 30 at the end of the sixth over as Taylor added 15 runs in the next over with two grand sixes.

Taylor became the third victim at 74 at his individual score of 24 from 14 balls with one six and two fours. Andre Russell was promoted up in the order and went into bat after the fall of the third wicket as Jayawardene got a life on the third ball of the 11th over when dropped by the bowler Dwayne Bravo for 45 runs. Russell secured his end while adding useful runs as Mahela Jayawardene reached his fifty on the second ball of the 12th over with a six.

The bowlers of Chennai Super Kings took over as wickets started crumbling and Jayawardene became the sixth victim at 127 in 14.4 overs after contributing 55 off 38 balls with 2 sixes and 4 fours. The lower and middle order batting of Delhi Daredevils was bulldozed as five of their incoming batsmen were unable to touch the double figures and their innings was folded back for 136 mere runs with 19 balls to spare.

Ravichandran was the star performer with three wickets, Shadab Jakati held two as Ben Hilenhaus, Albie Morkel and Dwayne Bravo shared one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings crushed Delhi Daredevils, won the match with a huge margin of 86 runs and reached the final of the IPL 2012. It was the third time in succession that Chennai Super Kings  reached the final and the fourth time in the five attempts in IPL history.


One response to “Murali Vijay slaughtered Delhi Daredevils as Chennai Super Kings rushed to the final”

  1. Rajdhani Express derailed.

    Virender Sehwag screwed it up all.

    Delhi Daredevils apni aukat me aa gaye.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.