The powerful Kolkata Knight Riders clinched the IPL 2012

Kokata Knight Riders 192-5 (Manvinder Bisla 89, Jacques Kallis 69, Ben Hilfenhaus 2-25) beat Chennai Super Kings 190-3 (Suresh Raina 73, Michael Hussey 54, Rajat Bhatia 1-23) by 5 wickets.

Manvinder Bisla - 'Player of the match' for his outstanding knock of 89 from 48 balls
Manvinder Bisla – 'Player of the match' for his outstanding knock of 89 from 48 balls

Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis held their nerves and bulldozed Chennai Super Kings bowlers as Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL 2012, final comprehensively.

Chennai Super Kings amassed 190 runs with seven wickets in hand at the end of the measured 20 overs. Kolkata Knight Riders thrashed 192 runs for the loss of five wickets with two balls to spare.

Manvinder Bisla (Kolkata Knight Riders) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his scintillating knock of 89 off just 48 balls.

The final of the Indian Premier League 2012, was played on Sunday, May 27, 2012 at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.

Earlier, MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, won the toss and decided to go for batting straight away at his home ground which was filled to capacity with supporters of his team. Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay started the batting with caution and scored just six runs in the first two overs. The pace of scoring was picked up from the third over when 14 runs were gathered with a boundary each from both batsmen. Hussey added 13 runs in the next over with one six and one four and the duo punished Brett Lee for 19 runs in the sixth over with another six and a couple of fours.

Murali Vijay contributed useful boundaries as well and the openers made a solid foundation by clinching 87 runs in 10.2 overs. Vijay was caught brilliantly by Shakib Al Hasan off Rajat Bhatia for 42 from 32 balls with 1 six and 4 fours. The promising Suresh Raina came in next and picked up a six in the 12th over as Hussey attained his fifty in the 14th over. Raina accumulated 16 runs in the same over off Yusuf Pathan with one six and two fours and scored his fifty on the third ball of the 17th over with a six over deep midwicket.

Hussey was clean bowled by Jacques Kallis for 53 off 43 deliveries with 2 sixes and 4 fours as Dhoni kept on charging as soon as he arrived at the crease. Suresh Raina was caught by Lee off Shakib Al Hasan on the last ball of the innings for 73 off 38 balls with 5 towering sixes and 3 fours as Chennai Super Kings piled up 190 runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders lost their skipper, Gautam Gambhir, on the last ball of the first over for just two runs. Jacques Kallis joined in next with Manvinder Bisla as the latter slapped Albie Morkal with 4 fours in the fourth over and carried on his assault by hitting two sixes in the sixth over from Ravichandran Aashwin. Bisla got a life when he was dropped by Ben Hilfenhaus at short fine leg on the fifth ball of the same over.

Bisla got his fifty in the eighth over and hit another 12 runs in the next over with one flying and the other reeling boundary. The duo was unstoppable and gathered the boundaries at will and the first hundred of the innings was scored in the 10th over. Bisla tortured the rival bowlers as they were at his mercy but was finally gone on the fourth ball of the 15th over for a majestic 89 off 48 mere balls with 5 huge sixes and 8 superb sixes.

Kallis rushed to his fifty with two successive fours in the 16th over and dispatched one six and even four in the 17th over as the wickets kept on falling from the other end. Kolkata Knight Riders required 20 runs from the last 12 balls as Jacques Kallis became the fifth victim on the fifth ball of the 19th over for 69 off 49 balls with one six and seven fours.

Shakib snatched a couple and one four on the last two balls of the 19th over as the target was reduced to 9 from the last six balls. Manoj Tiwari and Shakib Al Hasan managed two runs on the first two balls as the first pocketed the match with two consecutive fours on the next two balls. Kolkata Knight Riders powered 192 runs in 19.4 overs as the whole team, the coaches and the team management, stormed into the stadium to hug their two unbeaten batsmen Manoj Tiwari and Shakib Al Hasan.

Ben Hilfenhaus was the main wicket taker with two wickets whereas Albie Morkal, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dwayne Bravo claimed one wicket each.

The owner of the Kolkata Knight Riders, Shah Rukh Khan was thrilled with joy and congratulated each and every team member and the entire group for the wonderful achievement. It was the first time ever that Kolkata Knight Riders reached the final of the Indian Premier League, grabbing the trophy by defeating the two times champions, Chennai Super Kings, by a huge margin of five wickets.


One response to “The powerful Kolkata Knight Riders clinched the IPL 2012”

  1. Ajay Singh Avatar
    Ajay Singh

    20 more runs and CSK might have won the game. It was batting pitch and CSK failed to take the full advantage of it despite batting first. CSK also failed little bit with the ball. Manvinder Bisla nailed the coffin.

    It was good match though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.