Chennai Super Kings crushed Mumbai Indians and reached the final

Chennai Super Kings 1-192 (Michael Hussey 86*, Suresh Raina 82*, Kieron Pollard 1-28) beat Mumbai Indians 144 (Dwayne Smith 68, Kieron Pollard 24, Dwayne Bravo 3-9, Ravindra Jadeja 3-31) by 48 runs.

Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina toyed with the bowling of Mumbai Indians while contributing unbeaten 140 runs as Chennai Super Kings grabbed the match easily.

Chennai Super Kings amassed 192 for the loss of just one wicket in the allocated 20 overs and Mumbai Indians were bowled out for 144 with 8 balls to spare.

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his splendid unbeaten knock of 86 from 58 balls.

The Indian Premier League -qualifier 1, was played on Tuesday, May 21, 2013, at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi.

Earlier, MS Dhoni, The skipper of Chennai Super Kings, won the toss and sent his batsmen in to start the proceedings. Michael Hussey along with Murali Vijay took off well by scoring 29 runs from the first four overs with two boundaries from each of them. Hussey got 2 consecutive fours in the next over and they went past 50 runs mark in the seventh over. Murali Vijay was caught by Dwayne Smith off Kieron Pollard at 52 after scoring 23 runs as Suresh Raina walked in the park.

Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina - A splendid unbroken partnership of 140 from 76 mere balls
Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina – A splendid unbroken partnership of 140 from 76 mere balls

Michael Hussey became the highest scorer in the ongoing tournament so far when he stole his 27th run in the seventh over. He registered the 709th run and surpassed Chris Gayle of Royal Challengers Bangalore who smashed 708 already.

The batsmen kept on cruising nicely by getting regular boundaries as Raina hit two sixes in the following overs. Michael Hussey blasted his sixth fifty of the event in the 12th over and never looked back from there as Suresh Raina dispatched his fourth half century of the tournament with a huge six in the 17th over. The captain of Mumbai Indians deployed six bowlers to separate the partnership but remained unsuccessful. The spectators witnessed rain of fours and sixes from the duo and they hit 31 runs in the last two overs with 2 sixes and 3 fours. Michael Hussey blasted 86 off 58 deliveries with 2 lofty sixes and 10 fours, Suresh Raina powered 82 from 42 comprising 5 cracking sixes and even fours. They accumulated 140 runs from just 76 balls as Chennai Super Kings hammered 192 in 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians lost their first wicket at 12 as Dinesh Karthik joined in with Dwayne Smith who hit two back to back sixes in the fifth over and added another 3 fours in the sixth over. Smith continued his blast and thrashed his third fifty of the IPL 2013, in the next over with 2 sixes. His fifty took just 21 balls but was caught by Raina off Ravindra Jadeja for 68 scored on just 28 deliveries with 5 towering sixes and 6 fours.

The second wicket fell at 87 in 8.2 overs and Karthik became the next victim eight runs later when he was declared leg before wicket off Jadeja for 11. Kieron Pollard came in next but did not find a suitable partner at the other end. He tried to chase the target by posting 2 sixes on the first two balls of the 15th over but was gone three balls later for 24. The middle and lower order batting crumbled against the deadly bowling of Chennai Super Kings and the entire Mumbai Indians team was sent back to the pavilion for 144 in 18.4 overs.

Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja were the main destroyers with three wickets each, Mohit Sharma held two whereas Albie Morkel and Chris Morris shared one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings clinched the important encounter with a sufficient margin of 48 runs and qualified for the final of the IPL for the fifth time since its inception.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.