Delhi Daredevils went down vs. Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings 4-168 (MS Dhoni 58*, Murali Vijay 31, Umesh Yadav 2-26) beat Delhi Daredevils 9-135 (David Warner 44, Johan Botha 23, Albie Morkel 3-32) by 33 runs.

The dismal performance of Delhi Daredevils continued in the IPL 2013 when they lost badly against the formidable side of the tournament, Chennai Super Kings.

Chennai Super Kings thrashed 168 for the loss of four wickets in the allocated 20 overs and Delhi Daredevils were restricted to 9-135 in the required overs.

MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) was announced ‘Player of the match’ for his brave unbeaten innings of 58 runs.

The 64th match of the Indian Premier League was played on Tuesday, May 14, 2013, at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai.

MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, won the toss and sent in Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay to open the innings. Vijay was dropped at two on the last ball of the third over as Hussey hit two consecutive fours in the next over. They scored 17 runs in the sixth over with 1 six and 2 fours as Murali Vijay was run out at 61 in 7.2 overs after contributing 31 off 23 balls with 1 six and 3 fours. Hussey departed eight runs later for 26 and Suresh Raina multiplied the miseries of the home side when he was caught by the rival skipper, David Warner, off Van der Merwe for just seven runs.

MS Dhoni - A brave unbeaten innings of 58 runs
MS Dhoni – A brave unbeaten innings of 58 runs

MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja started mending the loss as the first hit a six in the 12th over. Dhoni was dropped at 14 by Siddarth Kaul on his own bowling in the 14th over and the batsman utilized the chance by adding 14 runs two overs later with 1 six and 1 four. Ravindra Jadeja became the next victim for 24 as the total touched 131 in 17 overs as MS Dhoni attained his fourth fifty of the tournament in the 19th over with 1 six and 1 four. He remained unbeaten for 58 off 35 with 4 towering sixes and 2 fours as the hosts reached 168 with six wickets in hand after 20 overs.

Umesh Yadav was the top wicket taker with two whereas RE van der Merwe claimed one wicket.

Delhi Daredevils lost Virender Sehwag for a duck on the second ball as Johan Botha associated with Unmukt Chand. They tried to escalate the run rate and hit 2 sixes and 4 fours until the third ball of the fifth over as the score reached 34. Chand was caught by Jason Holder off Mohit Sharma for 16 and he was replaced by David Warner. The batsmen accumulated 15 runs in the sixth over with 3 fours as Botha lost his wicket for 23 off 20 with 1 six and 3 fours.

The visitors were reeling at 5-63 in 9.3 overs as RE van der Merwe got together with Warner who was a lone fighter at his end. They kept on crawling and achieved the first hundred of the innings in the 15th over as van der Merve was caught by Raina off Ravichandran Ashwin for 14. Albie Morkel sealed the fate of Delhi Daredevils when he got rid of David Warner for 44 off 37 with 1 six and 2 fours. The late order batsmen were unable to resist and Delhi Daredevils managed 135 with one wicket left in 20 overs.

Albie Morkel was the supreme bowler with three wickets whereas Mohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin and Dwayne Bravo shared two wickets each.

Chennai Super Kings clinched the one sided encounter with a reasonable margin of 33 runs.

The present standing of the two teams in the tournament is as follows:

Chennai Super Kings – 22 points from 15 games – 1st position

Delhi Daredevils – 6 points from 14 games – 8th position


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.