Sunrisers Hyderabad rise against Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore 8-130 (Virat Kohli 46, Moises Henriques 44, Ishant Sharma 3-27) tied with Sunrisers Hyderabad 7-130 (Hanuma Vihari 44*, Akshath Reddy 23, Moises Henriques 2-14)

Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their superb performance in their maiden IPL tournament by winning vs. the mighty Royal Challengers Bangalore in the super over.

Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 130 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the assigned 20 overs and Sunrisers Hyderabad also posted even runs in the required quota of overs with three wickets in hand. The match was decided in the super over which ended in favour of the Sunrisers.

Hanuma Vihari (Sunrisers Hyderabad) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his unbeaten brisk knock of 44 runs.

The 7th match of the Indian Premier League was played on Sunday, April 7, 2013, at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad.

The toss was won by the skipper of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Virat Kohli, who opted to bat first but lost the competent opener, Chris Gayle for just one run. Kohli replaced Gayle who associated with Tillakaratne Dilshan and took the score to 22 in 3.4 overs when the latter was gone for five runs. Karun Nair walked in next and the burden of scoring was undertaken by Kohli who kept on cruising with odd boundaries. Nair was declared leg before wicket off Amit Mishra for 9 as the total touched 42 in 7.1 overs. Moises Henriques joined in next with Kohli and they took the score to 66 after 12 overs as the latter dispatched a six in the following over.

The duo enhanced the score to 85 in 14 overs when Virat Kohli lost his wicket for 46 off 44 balls with 1 six and 5 fours. The rival bowlers took charge and the wickets were sliding at regular intervals as Moises Henriques was the 7th batsman who went back to the dressing room for 44 from 40 deliveries with 5 fours. Royal Challengers Bangalore managed 130 runs with two wickets remaining in 20 overs.

Ishant Sharma was the supreme bowler with three wickets whereas Dale Steyn, Hanuma Vihari, Thisara Perera, Amit Mishra and Ashish Reddy shared one wicket each.

Hanuma Vihari - Impressive unbeaten innings of 44 runs
Hanuma Vihari – Impressive unbeaten innings of 44 runs

Sunrisers Hyderabad did not have a great start either as Parthiv Patel and Cameron White were dismissed for 2 and 5 runs respectively. Hanuma Vihari got together with the opener Akshath Reddy who was scoring most of the runs. The score reached 48 in 8.2 overs when Reddy was clean bowled by Muttiah Muralitharan for 23 runs. The captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kumar Sangakkara was the next batsman in but the batsmen were unable to get the boundaries. Vihari was the most brilliant of the two and they pushed the score to 81 after 13.4 overs when Sangakkara was caught behind by Arun Karthik off Jaydev Unadkat for 16 runs.

The incoming batsmen failed to maintain the rhythm and Sunrisers lost their sixth wicket at 101 after utilising 16.1 overs. Ashish Reddy provided some support to Vihari and accumulated 23 runs for the next wicket before he was gone for 14. The home team required seven runs to win the game in the last six balls but Reddy was caught by Kohli at cover off Vinay Kumar on the first delivery for 14. Hanuma Vihari secured his end for 44 off 40 balls with 5 fours as the score was levelled at the close of the last over.

Jaydev Unadkat and Moises Henriques were the top bowlers with two wickets each whereas Vinay Kumar and Muttiah Muralitharan ended up with one wicket each.

One-over eliminator

Sunrisers Hyderabad (rival bowler, Vinay Kumar)

1st ball – batsman Thisara Perera – 1 (no ball)

1st ball – batsman Cameron White – 1

2nd ball – Perera – 1

3rd ball – White – 6

4th ball – White – 2

5th ball – White – 6

6th ball – White – 2

Total – 20 runs

Royal Challengers Bangalore (rival bowler, Dale Steyn)

1st ball – batsman Chris Gayle – 2

2nd ball – Gayle – 1

3rd ball – batsman Virat Kohli – 4

4th ball – Kohli – 1

5th ball – Gayle – 6

6th ball – Gayle – 1

Total – 15 runs

Result – Sunrisers Hyderabad won the Super Over


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.