Sunrisers Hyderabad won against Mumbai Indians

Sunrisers Hyderabad 3-130 (Shikhar Dhawan 73*, Hanuma Vihari 25, Mitchell Johnson 1-21) beat Mumbai Indians 4-129 (Dwayne Smith 38, Ambati Rayudu 34*, Ishant Sharma 2-15) by seven wickets.

Sunrisers Hyderabad bowlers restricted the strong batting of Mumbai Indians within limits and the home batsmen led by Shikhar Dhawan achieved the target easily.

Mumbai Indians scored 129 runs with six wickets in hand at the end of the 20th over and Sunrisers Hyderabad thrashed 130 for the loss of just three wickets with 12 balls to spare.

Ishant Sharma (Sunrisers Hyderabad) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his economical bowling spell of 2-15.

The 43rd match of the Indian Premier League was played on Wednesday, May 1, 2013, at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad.

Shikhar Dhawan - A match winning unbeaten knock of 73 from 55 deliveries
Shikhar Dhawan – A match winning unbeaten knock of 73 from 55 deliveries

Earlier, Rohit Sharma won the toss for Mumbai Indians and preferred to bat first. Dwayne Smith and Sachin Tendulkar scored 19 runs in three overs with 1 six and 1 four from the first. Tendulkar hit 2 fours in the next over but Ishant Sharma made an impact by uprooting his stumps for 14 on the third delivery of the fifth over. He removed Dinesh Karthik two balls later for a duck as Rohit Sharma got together with Smith and hit two consecutive fours. The latter was dropped at 25 by Ishant Sharma off Amit Mishra at long off that resulted in a six but Rohit Sharma was caught by Ishant Sharma off Mishra for 22 as the score touched 74 in 12.1 overs.

Dwayne Smith went back to the dressing room on the fifth delivery of the same over for 38 off 40 with 2 big sixes and 3 fours. Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu associated on the wicket and tried to collect as many runs as possible with a few boundaries. The pair accumulated 16 runs in the final over with 3 fours as the score reached 129 for the loss of four wickets. Ambati Rayudu secured his end with 34 from 27 with 4 fours and Kieron Pollard scored 14.

Akshath Reddy and Shikhar Dhawan started off nicely for Sunrisers Hyderabad by scoring 16 runs in the first two overs with 3 fours as Reddy was caught by Smith off Mitchell Johnson for seven. Kumar Sangakkara joined in next with Dhawan as the first hit 3 fours in the coming overs followed by 1 six and 1 four by the latter. Kumar Sangakkara was caught and bowled by Harbhajan Singh for 21 and was replaced by Hanuma Vihari and they crept to 64 after 11 overs. The duo added 15 runs in the next over with 3 fours and Shikhar Dhawan powered his fifty on the 40th delivery with a four.

Dhawan carried on with his attack by dispatching 2 more fours in the 15th over as the score went past hundred. Vihari was dropped at 25 on the first ball of the 18th over but was caught by Rayudu off Dhawal Kulkarni for 25 off 23 with 2 fours. Shikhar Dhawan hit the winning run on the last ball of the 18th over and remained unbeaten for 73 off 55 with 1 six and 9 fours as Sunrisers Hyderabad attained the target by blasting 130 with seven wickets to spare.

Sunrisers Hyderabad grabbed the encounter with a huge margin of seven wickets and took their points tally to 12 after 10 games.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.