India A bowlers destroyed West Indies A – 2nd ODI

India A 184-7 (Rohit Sharma 39, Jalaj Saxena 35, Jason Holder 3-40) beat West Indies A 76 all out (Jason Mohammad 26, Assad Fudadin 12, Akshay Darekar 4-17) by 108 runs.

The hungry bowlers of India A led by Akshay Darekar squeezed the innings of West Indies A with authority and levelled the unofficial ODI series at 1-1.

The Blue Shirts A thrashed 184 runs with three wickets in hand at the end of the metered 50 overs and the Windies A was bowled out for 76 mere runs with 22.5 overs to spare.

Rohit Sharma - Top scorer for India A
Rohit Sharma – Top scorer for India A

Jalaj Saxena (India A) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his all round performance in the game. He hammered 35 runs while batting down in the order and held two wickets with his calculated bowling.

The second unofficial One Day International of the three match series was held on Friday, June 29, 2012, at National Cricket Stadium, St George’s, Grenada.

Earlier, the captain of India A, Cheteshwar Pujara, won the toss and elected to bat but their three top order batsmen went back to the pavilion for 46 runs. Shikhar Dhawan scored 19, Ajinkya Rahane 9 and the skipper contributed 12 runs.

The experienced Rohit Sharma and Manoj Tiwary started the repair work and accumulated useful runs for the team. They were solid in defence and sent the loose balls out of the fence on numerous occasions as Sharma was the most aggressive of the two. The duo shared a valuable partnership of 51 runs for the fourth wicket when Tiwary was unluckily run out for 20 runs.

Rohit became the next victim after scoring 39 runs whereas Wriddhiman Saha was the sixth batsman who lost his wicket as the total touched 149 at his personal feat of 21 runs. Jalaj Saxena took charge and punished the rival bowlers at his will with a little support from the other end. He was clean bowled by Jason Holder for 35 as India A piled up 184 runs for the loss of seven wickets at the end of the 50th over.

Holder was the main wicket taker with three whereas Nelon Pascal, Jonathan Carter and the skipper, Veerasammy Permaul shared one wicket each.

West Indies A had a dismal start by losing two quick wickets for mere one runs as Ashok Dinda tore apart their defence. The seasoned opener Adrian Barath lost his wicket for 13 and the home team was reeling at 5-42 when Assad Fudadin and Jason Mohammad gave some resistance for a short while.

They added 19 runs for the sixth wicket when Fudadin was gone for 12 runs and the total appeared as 61 runs. The India A bowlers never looked back from there and the wickets started tumbling at regular intervals. Jason Mohammmad was the highest scorer with 26, five of their batsmen were unable to open their account and three could not reach the double figures as the innings of West Indies A was folded back for just 76 runs in 27.1 overs.

Akshay Darekar was the star performer with the ball and grabbed four wickets whereas Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jalaj Saxena claimed two wickets each.

India A levelled the series at 1-1 and the third and final unofficial ODI will be played at the same venue on July 1, 2012.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.