West Indies beat Australia after 16 years – only Twenty20

West Indies 6-191 (Johnson Charles 57, Darren Bravo 32, James Faulkner 3-28) beat Australia 8-164 (Adam Voges 51, Brad Haddin 22, Kieron Pollard 3-30) by 27 runs.

West Indies at last registered their first win in Australia against the hosts when they clinched the only Twenty20 after demonstrating a nice team work.

West Indies powered 191 runs with four wickets in hand in the allocated 20 overs as Australia reached 164 after losing 8 wickets.

Kieron Pollard - A fine all round performance
Kieron Pollard – A fine all round performance

Kieron Pollard (West Indies) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his all round performance in the encounter.

The only Twenty20 was played on Wednesday, February 13, 2013, at Brisbane Cricket Ground, Woolloongabba, Brisbane.

Darren Sammy, the Windies skipper, won the toss, he opted to bat and their first wicket was lost at 11 when Chris Gayle was gone for 8 runs. Darren Bravo got together with Johnson Charles who hit two fours in the fifth over. Charles got his first six two overs later and added another 2 fours in the next over while Bravo kept on cruising from the other end. The duo took the score to 99 in 11 overs when Johnson Charles was clean bowled by Nathan Coulter-Nile for 57 off 35 balls with 1 six and 7 fours.

Darren Bravo was unluckily run out after the addition of seven runs to the total for his personal contribution of 32 runs. Kieron Pollard played a short breezy knock of 26 off 17 deliveries with 1 six and 2 fours as the fourth wicket was gone at 139 in 16.1 overs. Darren Sammy scored 20 and Andre Russell remained unbeaten for 23 from 11 with 3 fours as the Caribbeans smashed 191 for the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs.

James Faulkner was the prominent wicket taker with three whereas Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Coulter-Nile shared one wicket each.

Australia lost Aaron Finch on the first ball of the second over when Sammy uprooted his stumps as Adam Voges joined in with Shaun Marsh. The latter hit the first six of the Kangaroos innings in the fourth over and Marsh followed him in the sixth over. Voges was the most aggressive of the two and was sending the ball out of the fence at regular intervals. Voges completed his maiden T20 fifty and the second wicket fell at 79 in 9.4 overs as Shaun Marsh ran himself out for 21 runs. Johnson Charles became the next victim three runs later for 51 off 33 deliveries comprising 2 sixes and even fours.

George Bailey and Ben Rohrer tried to progress the innings and the first hit 2 fours in the 11th over. Bailey was caught by Narsingh Deonarine off Sunil Narine for 16 and Brad Haddin became the fifth batsman who surrendered after scoring 22 runs. The West Indian bowlers took charge of the situation completely and no home player was able to get the runs briskly. Australia managed 164 runs for the loss of 8 wickets when the last ball of the 20th over was bowled.

Kieron Pollard was the highest wicket taker with three, Sunil Narine held two and Darren Sammy claimed one wicket.

West Indies won Twenty20 by a margin of 27 runs and this was their only victory on the tour and that was their first triumph over the home team, Australia, in 16 years. Earlier, on the present trip, the hosts have beaten them comprehensively 5-0 in the One Day International series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.