New Zealand beat Australia in 4th T20 Cricket Match

New Zealand Women tasted the first victory in Twenty20 against Australia Women in the five match series by six wickets well led by their Captain Suzie Bates.

New Zealand captain Suzie Bates lead country to the victory over Australia in 4th T20 Cricket match at Sydney
New Zealand captain Suzie Bates lead country to the victory over Australia in 4th T20 Cricket match at Sydney

The match was restricted to 18 overs a side, the Kangaroos Women scored 92 runs and the Kiwi Women achieved the target by smashing 95 runs on the first ball of the 18th over.

The match was played at Stadium Australia, Sydney on February 1st, 2012.

Earlier Australia Women won the toss and elected to bat with the vision to put a reasonable score on board. The decision reverted as they lost their opener Meg Lanning for just one run when she was run out on the last ball of the first over at the total of four runs.

The other experienced opener, Leah Poulton was holding one end but the wickets kept on sliding at the other end. Jess Cameron was caught by Sara McGlashan on the bowling of Lea Tahuhu for four runs with the addition of four runs in the total.

There was a mini collapse when the middle order crumbled and they lost four wickets for 17 runs. The Kangaroos Woman Captain Jodie Fields took over the charge and consolidated the innings with couple of vital partnerships. She added 13 runs with Poulton who was gone after contributing 19 runs off 28 balls with one four.

The sixth wicket association of 43 runs with Lisa Sthalekar was the highest of the innings which gave them stability. She scored 23 runs off 24 balls with one four as Kate Broadmore caught her off Amy Satterthwaite.

Fields remained unbeaten on quick fired 37 runs off 40 balls with the assistance of one six and two fours as Australian Women put on board 92 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 18 overs.

Broadmore was the highest wicket taker with three, Tahuhu and Satterthwaite shared one wicket each.

New Zealand Women had a bright start when their openers, Captain Suzie Bates and Sara McGlashan punished the rival bowling at their will. The duo accumulated runs with aggressive approach while sending the ball to the boundaries occasionally. They shared a solid partnership of 33 runs in 5.1 overs when McGlashan was clean bowled by Sarah Coyte for 19 runs off 18 balls with a huge six and a four.

Bates led the side from the front while sharing 13 runs partnership for the second wicket with Satterthwaite who scored seven runs. Maddie Green contributed 14 runs and added 19 runs for the third wicket as the total reached at 65 runs.
Bates remained unbeaten on 39 off 41 balls which comprised two fours as the New Zealand Women smashed 95 runs on the first ball of the 18th over after losing just four wickets.

Sthalekar was the chief wicket taker with two as Coyte claimed one wicket from the Australian Women.
New Zealand Women won the 4th T20 by a big margin of six wickets which was their first victory in the five match series. The fifth and final match will be played on February 3, 2012, at Melbourne.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.