Delhi Daredevils register victory vs. Pune Warriors

Delhi Daredevils 5-164 (David Warner 51*, Virender Sehwag 28, Ashok Dinda 3-31) beat Pune Warriors 4-149 (Robin Uthappa 37, Aaron Finch 37, Umesh Yadav 2-24) by 15 runs.

A sharp unbeaten fifty from David Warner assisted by the lethal bowling by Irfan Pathan and Umesh Yadav led Delhi Daredevils to a convincing win vs. Pune Warriors.

Delhi Daredevils scored 164 for the loss of five wickets in the allocated 20 overs and Pune Warriors managed 149 runs with six wickets in hand at the close of the game.

David Warner (Delhi Daredevils) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his unbeaten blistering 51 off 25 balls.

The 39th match of the Indian Premier League was held on Sunday, April 28, 2013, at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Rajpur.

Aaron Finch, the captain of Pune Warriors, won the toss and invited Delhi Daredevils to bat first and the innings was initiated by their skipper, Mahela Jayawardene, with Virender Sehwag. They scored 20 runs off the first three overs with a couple of fours from Jayawardene who was gone for 12 in the next over. Unmukt Chand walked in next and opened his account with a four as Sehwag added 10 runs in the sixth over with 1 six and 1 four while repeating it two overs later.  Virender Sehwag was unable to carry on with his aggression and was caught behind by Robin Uthappa off Ashok Dinda for 28.

David Warner - An unbeaten blistering knock of 51 from 25 deliveries
David Warner – An unbeaten blistering knock of 51 from 25 deliveries

Unmukt Chand lost his wicket without any addition to the score after scoring 17 runs as David Warner and Ben Rohrer got together in the park. Warner adapted his typical offensive batting style and began with 1 six and 1 four in the 13th over as Rohrer went back to the dressing room for 13. Kedar Jadhav joined in with Warner who dispatched 1 six and 3 fours in the following overs and completed his fifty with 2 sixes in the 19th. Jadhav was caught by Mithun Minhas off Dinda for 25 and David Warner secured his end with 51 off 25 mere balls that included 4 hefty sixes and even fours as Delhi Daredevils powered 164 with five wickets in hand after 20 overs.

Ashok Dinda was the top wicket taker with three whereas Rahul Sharma and Abhishek Nayar shared one wicket each.

Robin Uthappa and Aaron Finch started off well for Pune Warriors by scoring 25 runs in the first four overs. Uthappa got 10 runs in the next over with 2 fours and Finch went for 14 two overs later comprising 3 fours. The openers contributed 75 runs in 10 overs when Irfan Pathan removed both of them in the following over after they had scored 37 runs each.

Yuvraj Singh and Luke Wright did not give up the chase as the first hit 4 fours in the coming overs and the score went past the hundred runs mark in the 14th over. Wright added another 3 fours in the next three overs as Umesh Yadav repeated the feat of Irfan Pathan in the 18th over. Luke Wright and Yuvraj Singh surrendered against him in that over for 19 and 31 runs respectively. Steven Smith held his end with 17 off 8 with 1 six and 2 fours as Pune Warriors reached 149 after losing four wickets.

Delhi Daredevils became victorious with a margin of 15 runs and both teams are at the bottom of the table with four points each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.