Mumbai Indians routed Kolkata Knight Riders

Mumbai Indians 6-170 (Sachin Tendulkar 48, Dwayne Smith 47, Ryan McLaren 2-60) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 105 (Jacques Kallis 24, Debabarat Das 23, Harbhajan Singh 3-27) by 65 runs.

Sachin Tendulkar gave a match winning performance with the bat for Mumbai Indians whereas their bowlers ripped through the batting of Kolkata Knight Riders.

Mumbai Indians piled up 170 runs with four wickets still in hand at the end of the stipulated 20 overs and the innings of Kolkata Knight Riders was squeezed for mere 105 in 18.2 overs.

The little master, Sachin Tendulkar, (Mumbai Indians) was announced ‘Player of the match’ for his absorbing knock of 48 runs.

The 53rd game of the Indian Premier League was staged on Tuesday, May 7, 2013, at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Rohit Sharma won the toss for Mumbai Indians and preferred to bat first at his home wicket. Dwayne Smith along with Sachin Tendulkar started swiftly as the first got two fours in the second over followed by five boundaries by the latter in the fourth one. The next three overs resulted in just one four as Smith sent the ball out of the rope twice in the 8th over. The batsmen were playing their shots without any problem and took the score to 93 in 13 overs when Sachin Tendulkar was clean bowled by Rajat Bhatia for 48 off just 28 balls with 8 fours.

Sachin Tendulkar - Player of the match
Sachin Tendulkar – Player of the match

Dwayne Smith was gone six runs later for 47 from 53 comprising 7 fours as Dinesh Karthik and Rohit Sharma got together in the center. Sharma hit 1 six and 1 four in the 16th over and Karthik sent the ball flying over the fence in the next one. Ryan McLaren got two wickets in the 18th over while removing Sharma for 16 and Kieron Pollard at four as the score touched 4-134 in 17.5 overs. Karthik played a responsible unbeaten innings of 34 off 18 deliveries with 2 big sixes and 3 fours as the home side hammered 170 after losing six wickets in 20 overs.

Ryan McLaren was the top wicket taker with two whereas Iqbal Abdulla and Rajat Bhatia shared one each.

Kolkata Knight Riders lost their captain, Gautam Gambhir, for a duck as Jacques Kallis joined in with Manvinder Bisla. Kallis opened up with 1 six and 1 four in the second over as Bisla was dropped at 0 by Harbhajan Singh in the slip off Mitchell Johnson. The pair enhanced the score to 38 in 6 overs as Bisla was caught behind by Karthik off Pragyan Ojha for 17. Yusuf Pathan was the next batsman in who dispatched 1 six and 1 four in the following overs. The stumps of Pathan were dislodged by Ojha for 13 and Jacques Kallis became the next victim for 24.

Debabrata Das and the hard hitting Eoin Morgan were unable to get away from the rival bowling. Morgan was the fifth batsman who returned to the pavilion for just five runs as the rival took over from thereon. Das was the only batsman who survived for a while by managing 23 runs with 2 sixes and even fours as the rest of the batsmen surrendered to the quality bowling of the hosts. The entire team was bowled out for just 105 runs with 10 balls still left in the game.

Harbhajan Singh was the star performer with three wickets, Mitchell Johnson and Pragyan Ojha held two each whereas Abu Nechim and Lasith Malinga claimed one wicket each.

Mumbai Indians triumphed in the one sided encounter by a huge margin of 65 runs and secured no.2 position on the table with 16 points.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.