Mumbai Indians surrendered against daring Virender Sehwag

Delhi Daredevils 1-165 (Virender Sehwag 95*, Mahela Jayawardene 59, Lasith Malinga 1-26) beat Mumbai Indians 4-161 (Rohit Sharma 73, Sachin Tendulkar 54, Umesh Yadav 2-31) by 9 wickets.

The firework from the ace opener of Delhi Daredevils, Virender Sehwag, provided his team a commanding victory against the full bloodied Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians scored 161 runs for the loss of four wickets in the allocated 20 overs and Delhi Daredevils powered 165 runs with nine wickets in hand with 18 balls to spare.

Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his adventurous unbeaten knock of 95 off 57 mere deliveries.

The 28th match of the Indian Premier League was played on Sunday, April 21, 2013, at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi.

Earlier, the captain of Mumbai Indians, Ricky Ponting, won the toss and went into bat first. He changed his batting order after showing dismal performance while opening the innings in the early matches played so far. Dwayne Smith went into bat with the experienced Sachin Tendulkar and they took off slowly by scoring just seven runs in the first three overs. Smith was gone on the second ball of the next over for eight and Dinesh Karthik was run out for two runs. Rohit Sharma joined in next with Tendulkar who hit the first six of the match in the seventh over.

Sharma followed him in the 9th over and the runs started pouring from the willows of the two batsmen. Tendulkar was dropped at 37 on the second ball of the 12th over by the bowler Shahbaz Nadeem as Sharma added 11 runs in the 13th over with a couple of fours. Rohit Sharma scored his fifty two overs later with the assistance of another 2 fours as the score went past the hundred runs mark. Sachin Tendulkar attained his half century in style with a six in the following over and was finally caught by David Warner off Umesh Yadav for 54 from 47 balls with 2 sixes and 3 fours.

The third wicket fell at 118 in 16.2 overs as Kieron Pollard walked in the center. Sharma sent the ball flying over the rope twice in the 18th over and became the fourth victim at 149 after smashing 73 off 43 with 5 gigantic sixes and even fours. Pollard held his end for 19 as Mumbai Indians reached 161 in 20 overs.

Umesh Yadav secured two wickets whereas Re van der Merwe was the only other successful bowler with one wicket.

Virender Sehwag - A blistering unbeaten knock of 95 from 57 mere balls
Virender Sehwag – A blistering unbeaten knock of 95 from 57 mere balls

A change of tactics was applied from the skipper of Delhi Daredevils, Mahela Jayawardene, when he came in to open the innings with Virender Sehwag. The latter got a life when he was dropped at just two runs on the first ball of the third over and he never looked back from there. The duo accumulated 34 runs in the next two overs that comprised 1 six and 6 fours and Sehwag got another two boundaries in the sixth over. Virender Sehwag posted his fifty in the 8th over with a six and Jayawardene achieved his half century four overs later.

Sehwag continued with his blistering knock by hitting 2 fours in the 13th over and repeated the same feat in the 15th. The brutal first wicket stand was broken at 151 in 15.5 overs when Mahela Jayawardene was declared leg before wicket off Lasith Malinga for 59 scored from just 43 deliveries with 1 six and 8 fours. Virender Sehwag hit the winning four on the last ball of the 17th over and remained unbeaten for 95 off 57 balls with 2 lofty sixes and 13 fours. David Warner was at the other end at seven as the home side plundered 165 runs in 17 overs.

Delhi Daredevils won the one sided game with a huge margin of nine wickets and registered their first triumph in the seven games played so far in the IPL 2013.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.