England forced series wash on New Zealand

England 354 and 5-287 declared (Alastair Cook 130, Jonathan Trott 76, Kane Williamson 3-68) beat New Zealand 174 and 220 (Ross Taylor 70, Hamish Rutherford 42, Graeme Swann 6-90) by 247 runs.

The dominant England side crushed the depleted New Zealand in the 2nd Test with a hefty margin as the hosts went on to win the match and series convincingly.

England piled up 354 runs in the first innings and Alastair Cook declared the second at 287 after losing five wickets. New Zealand was bowled out twice in the match at 174 and 220 runs respectively.

Graeme Swann (England) was announced ‘Player of the match’ for his 10 wickets haul in the game.

Joe Root, the young gun of England, was declared ‘Player of the series’ since he was the highest run scorer from either sides. He plundered 243 runs at an awesome average of 60.75 with 1 hundred and 1 fifty.

The second and final Test concluded on Tuesday, May 28, 2013, at Headingley, Leeds.

English team after grabbing the series 2-0
English team after grabbing the series 2-0

The play was delayed because of the rain and resumed at 11.40 am as England had a sigh of relief. The Black Caps went into bat at 6-158 after utilising 54.4 overs whereas their skipper, Brendon McCullum, and Tim Southee were unbeaten for 0 and 4 runs respectively. McCullum could not survive longer, he was caught and bowled by Stuart Broad for just one run and was replaced by Doug Bracewell. Southee preferred to attack and hit a couple of fours as the first six of the innings was dispatched by him in the 62nd over.

Tim Southee was dropped at 24 by Jonathan Trott in the slip off Graeme Swann on the fifth delivery of the 64th over. Bracewell added 10 runs in the next over with 1 six and 1 four and the score was enhanced to 218 in 64.4 overs. Tim Southee was caught by Trott off Swann for 38 from 41 balls with 2 lofty sixes and 4 fours. Doug Bracewell went back to the pavilion two runs later for 19 and the entire innings of the Kiwis was folded back for 220 in 76.3 overs after consuming 328 minutes.

Graeme Swann was the champion bowler with six wickets, Stuart Broad held two whereas James Anderson and Steven Finn claimed one wicket each.

England won the second Test with a huge margin of 247 runs and clinched the two Test series 2-0.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.