Pakistani squad vs. Australia and World Twenty20

The selection committee of PCB has announced Pakistan’s T20 team for the forthcoming series vs. Australia and the World T20 under the leadership of Mohammad Hafeez.

They have included three old war horses, amongst them the all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, the opening batsman Imran Nazir and the wicketkeeper batsman Kamran Akmal. Raza Hasan is a promising young left arm spinner who will be anticipating the national cap in the series against Australia.

We will highlight the inclusion of the above four players while keeping in view their T20 career.

Muhammad Hafeez - To lead the Pakisatni T20 Squad
Muhammad Hafeez – To lead the Pakisatni T20 Squad

Raza Hasan was born on July 8, 1992, in Sialkot, a left arm spinner and a right hand lower order batsman. He has played for Pakistan A, Punjab Stallions, Pakistan Customs, Rawalpindi Rams, Pakistan Under-19s, Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited and Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited.

Raza Hasan has been a consistent performer on the domestic circuit and he impressed everyone especially in the shortest version of the game. He is capable of containing batsmen while grasping wickets at crucial moments with his artistic spin bowling.

The 27-year-old has played 19 T20s and grasped 37 wickets at an excellent average of 12.59 runs per wicket with the best of 4-21.

The chief selector of Pakistan Cricket Board, Iqbal Qasim, is confident that Raza Hasan will prove his worth in the series vs. Australia and World Twenty20. He said,

“Raza, though young, isn’t a new name. He has been performing and [taking into account] the need for a left-arm spinner, he is the best [option] at the moment.”

Abdul Razzaq is a dashing all rounder who has won quite a few matches by his individual performance for the country. He made his T20 debut against England on August 28, 2006, at County Ground, Bristol. He clinched three wickets and scored 17 runs off just 7 balls with 4 fours as Pakistan won the match by five wickets.

The 32-year-old took part in 26 T20 matches, scored 346 runs at an average of 23.06 with the best of unbeaten 46. He has taken 18 wickets averaging 20.00 runs per wicket with the best of 3-13.

Razzaq played his last T20 vs. New Zealand on December 30, 2010, at AMI Stadium, Christchurch. He smashed unbeaten 34 runs off 11 mere balls with 3 sixes and even fours, grabbed three wickets and was declared ‘Player of the match’ which was won by Pakistan with a huge margin of 103 runs.

Imran Nazir is an attacking right hand opener who believes in punishing the rival bowlers from the word ‘go’. He made his debut against South Africa on February 2, 2007, at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

The 30-year-old participated in 16 matches, scored 324 runs at an average of 23.14, the best of 59 with two fifties.

Imran Nazir played his last game vs. England on February 20, 2010, at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Kamran Akmal was out of the national squad after his poor performance during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and was side lined for some unknown reasons. He got clearance from the integrity committee of PCB in the beginning of this month and forced his way back in the squad.

The 30-year-old made his debut vs. England on August 28, 2006, at County Ground, Bristol. He has played 38 T20s, scored 704 runs at an average of 23.46, the best of 73 with 5 fifties and has held 17 catches behind the wickets along with 28 stumping.

Kamran Akmal played his last match against England on September 7, 2010, at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff.

Iqbal Qasim is satisfied with the selection of the entire team and especially for Abdul Razzaq and Imran Nazir. He justified their selection by saying,

“Each player in the side has a role and has been selected accordingly. Razzaq and Imran are utility players and can make a difference. Imran is a good fielder, while Razzaq can also be useful as a seamer on Sri Lankan pitches [during the World T20] and can score some quick runs.”

Squad for Australia T20s, World T20

  • Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Imran Nazir, Nasir Jamshed, Kamran Akmal (wk), Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Yasir Arafat, Umar Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Raza Hasan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami, Sohail Tanvir.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.