Chennai Super Kings disgraced Delhi Daredevils

Chennai Super Kings 4-169 (Michael Hussey 65*, MS Dhoni 44, Irfan Pathan 1-30) beat Delhi Daredevils 83 (Kedar Jadhav 31, Virender Sehwag 17, Mohit Sharma 3-10) by 86 runs.

Michael Hussey and MS Dhoni laid a solid foundation while batting superbly for Chennai Super Kings as their bowlers swallowed the perishable Delhi Daredevils.

Chennai Super Kings hammered 169 runs for the loss of just four wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Delhi Daredevils batsmen found it hard to cope with the deadly rival bowlers and their innings was folded back for 83 mere runs with 15 balls to spare.

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) was declared ‘Player of the match’ for his polished unbeaten knock of 65 from 50 balls.

The 24th match of the Indian Premier League was played on Thursday, April 18, 2013, at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi.

Earlier, MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, won the toss and decided to bat first after reading the wicket well. Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay started the proceedings and the latter hit 3 fours and took the total to 30 before he was declared leg before wicket off Morne Morkel for 18. Suresh Raina walked in next, opened his innings with a four as Hussey was doing well at the other end. The first 10 overs produced 60 runs as Raina added a couple of fours in the next one followed by 12 by Hussey with 1 six and 1 four. The second wicket partnership enhanced the score to 90 in 12.5 overs when Suresh Raina was gone for 30 off 32 balls with 5 fours.

Michael Hussey - 'Player of the match' for his unbeaten 65 off 50 balls
Michael Hussey – ‘Player of the match’ for his unbeaten 65 off 50 balls

MS Dhoni joined in next with Hussey and the run rate was picked up by the two instantly. Michael Hussey dispatched the first six of the innings in the 15th over and completed his fifty in the very next over. Dhoni was dropped at 17 by Ajit Agarkar at long-off at the bowling of Umesh Yadav and the batsmen became more violent after that. The duo accumulated 19 runs in the 18th over with 1 six and 3 fours as Dhoni was caught by Jeevan Mendis off Yadav for 44 from 35 with 1 six and 5 fours. The fourth wicket fell at 164 in 19.3 overs as Dwayne Bravo ran himself out for just three runs. Michael Hussey remained unbeaten for 65 off 50 comprising 2 huge sixes and 6 fours as Chennai Super Kings amassed 169 runs with six wickets still in hand after 20 overs.

Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav were the only successful bowlers among the lot to claim one wicket each.

Delhi Daredevils had a miserable beginning as they lost the two top order batsmen for just 13 runs in the initial two overs. Their skipper Mahela Jayawardene got together with the opener Virender Sehwag and they managed to take the score to just 30 runs as the first was held lbw off Chris Morris for six. Worries multiplied for the home side when Virender Sehwag was caught by Hussey at deep square leg off Mohit Sharma for 17. Jeevan Mendis and Kedar Jadhav associated together and tried to establish the innings with the assistance of a few boundaries. The score reached 61 in 10.2 overs as Mendis was run out for 12 runs and that was the start of a disaster for the hosts.

Jadhav was the only batsman who kept on surviving while adding runs at his end whereas the wickets kept on falling like ninepins from the other side. The rival bowlers became unplayable and Kedar Jadhav became the 9th victim at 82 in 16.1 overs at his personal feat of 31 from 28 deliveries with 3 fours. The entire team was bowled out for just 83 runs in 17.3 overs and faced a humiliation by their strong opponents.

Mohit Sharma was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, Ravichandran Ashwin held two whereas Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja shared one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings won the one sided encounter with a huge margin of 86 runs and added two valuable points to their table.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.