Bangladesh clinched the series in a thriller – 2nd T20 vs. Ireland

Bangladesh 146-6(Nasir Hossain 50, Mohammad Ashraful 38, Max Sorensen 2-34) beat Ireland 145-6(Ed Joyce 41, Gary Wilson 37, Elias Sunny 2-18) by one run.

The late assault by Nasir Hossain and lethal bowling spell by Mahmudullah cornered Ireland as Bangladesh won the sensational 2nd T20 and the three match series.

Bangladesh scored 146 runs with four wickets in hand at the end of the measured 20 overs and Ireland was left behind with a couple of runs from the victory after they had lost six wickets.

Nasir Hossain - A glorious unbeaten Knock of 50
Nasir Hossain – A glorious unbeaten Knock of 50

The second match of the three match Twenty20 series was held on Friday, July 20, 2012, at Civil Service Club, Stormont, Belfast.

Earlier, the skipper of Bangladesh, Mushfiqur Rahim, won the toss and preferred to bat on a pitch that looked full of runs. They lost the first wicket at 12 runs in 3.3 overs when the opener, Tamim Iqbal, was gone for a duck. Shakib Al Hasan joined in with Mohammad Ashraful who was batting reasonably well at the other side. They added 10 runs in the 6th over with two fours but the first lost his wicket for 11 as the total touched 32 runs in 6.1 overs.

Mushfaqur Rahim started off by getting 13 runs in the 8th over with one six and one four but was unluckily run out for 14 in the next over. Mahmudullah became the next victim at 61 when Nasir Hossain appeared on the scene and initiated the repair work with Ashraful. Nasir was in an aggressive mood and accumulated 37 runs partnership for the fifth wicket. Mohammad Ashraful tried to accelerate the scoring but was caught at deep square leg by Andrew Poynter off Max Sorensen for 38 off 46 balls with 2 fours.

The hard hitting Ziaur Rahman and Nasir Hossain punished Alex Cusak for 17 runs in the 18th over with 1 six and 2 fours. The first was gone for 14 as Nasir completed his fifty in the following over with one six and even four. He remained unbeaten for 50 off 33 just balls with 2 sixes and 4 fours as Bangladesh posted 146 runs on board for the loss of six wickets at the end of the 20th over.

Max Sorensen was the highest wicket taker with two as Trent Johnston, Alex Cusak and Kevin O’Brien claimed one wicket each.

The Irish captain, William Porterfield and Paul Stirling opened the innings in style as the first hit two four in the first over followed by one four from the latter in the next over. They scored 31 runs in 3.5 overs when Porterfield ran himself out for 14 as Ed Joyce associated with Stirling who was firing from the other end.

Elias Sunny struck for the visitors and got rid of Paul Stirling for 26 scored off 20 deliveries with 4 fours. Gary Wilson was the next batsman who came in and got his first four in the 9th over. Joyce kept on creeping from the other end as Wilson sent two balls rolling over the fence in the 14th over and the hundred of the innings also appeared on board.

The third wicket contributed 55 runs as Gary Wilson was stumped smartly by the wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim off Elias Sunny for 37 from 27 balls with 4 fours. Ireland required 23 runs to win from the last 18 balls with six wickets in hand and the 18th over was delivered by Mahmudullah who gave away just four runs.

The hosts needed 10 runs from the last six balls but Mahmudullah grabbed two wickets and gave away just 8 runs. Ed Joyce was the sixth batsman who went back to the pavilion on the fifth ball of the last over for 41 off 44 balls with just one four. Ireland managed 145 runs with four wickets in hand after consuming the full quota of 20 overs.

Elias Sunny and Mahmudullah grasped two wickets each whereas Abdur Razzak held one wicket.

Bangladesh won the electrifying match by a margin of mere one run and is leading the three match series 2-0.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.